Research Guides: History Resources: Before 1500

History Before 1500

Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy This link opens in a new window
Digital documents, including ebooks, relevant to the fields of law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy and government.
Coverage: Covers ancient times (BCE) to the present.
British History Online This link opens in a new window
Core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles.
EEBO - Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
Digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in English from 1473-1700.
ETANA This link opens in a new window
Ancient Near Eastern resources, including archaeological excavation reports, ancient and modern texts, core early monographs, dictionaries, journals, and reports in the public domain.
International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary bibliography of the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa. Periodicals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften, and exhibition catalogues).
Coverage: 400-1500
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of articles, essays, books and reviews. Also: a directory of scholars, an online edition of Paul Oskar Kristeller's Iter Italicum, access to the journal Renaissance Quarterly, and the Baptisteria Sacra.
Making of the Modern World This link opens in a new window
Digital facsimile images of unique primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. History, political science, social conditions, technology and industry, economics, area studies, etc.
Coverage: 1450-1930.
Medieval Family Life This link opens in a new window
Letter correspondence of five 15th century English families describing everyday life including discussions of advantageous marriages and inheritance, estate management, women and their role within the family, arguments between parents and children, births, deaths, politics, and community.
Coverage: 1400 - 1490.
Medieval Travel Writing This link opens in a new window
Accounts of journeys to the Holy Land, India and China tell us much about the attitudes and preconceptions of people across Europe in the medieval period, shedding light on issues of race, economics, trade, militarism, politics, literature, and science.
Coverage: 13th to 16th centuries.