History Resources: North Africa/West Asia

Digitized historical documents from the National Archives (UK) covering the national heritage and political development of many countries in the Middle East, the Balkans, the Caucasus, and Russia.

Papers of the British Foreign and Colonial Offices covering events from the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha, the Middle East Conference of 1921, the Mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia, and the Suez Crisis in 1956, to the partition of Palestine, post-Suez Western foreign policy, and the Arab-Israeli conflict.

Early printed books in Arabic script. Covering religious literature, law, science, mathematics, astrology, alchemy, medicine, geography, travel, history, chronicles, and literature, and including European translations of Arabic works and Arabic translations of European books.

Diplomatic correspondence, minutes, reports, political summaries, and personality profiles from the UK National Archives addressing policies, economies, political relationships, and significant events in Middle East countries.

Newspapers, books, manuscripts, maps, and photographs. Simultaneously search: 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, Sunday Times (London), Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO), Making of the Modern World, Times Literary Supplement, and Times Digital Archive, Financial Times (London).

Large and important archive for academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals do not have current issues.

Includes a number of North Africa and West Asia related sources

Central Asia, Persia and Afghanistan, 1834-1922: From Silk Road to Soviet Rule - collection of British Foreign Office diplomatic correspondence and memoranda provide insights not only into the impact of politics on the region, but also the region’s peoples, cultures and societies.

Newspapers, journals, documents, archives, and other traditional and digital resources. Most materials acquired are from outside the United States, many from Africa, the Middle East, Southeast Asia, South Asia, and Latin America.

Covering almost 200 countries, each report presents detailed statistics alongside expert commentary and forecasting from the EIU’s analysts. This database presents the historical reports up to 1995, with all data from the statistical tables fully captured and downloadable in spreadsheet form. It is a unique archive of analysis and explanation of political, economic and commercial developments, together with historical statistical data.

Manuscript, printed, and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences, predominantly from the British Library. Secondary resources include scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology.

Ancient Near Eastern resources, including archaeological excavation reports, ancient and modern texts, core early monographs, dictionaries, journals, and reports in the public domain.

Covers an array of international perspectives by showcasing intimate personal narratives, wartime propaganda and recruitment material, the truly global reach of the conflict, and the role of women in war through various documentary and visual forms.

FBIS Daily Reports issued by the U.S. Government, includes translations of broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the world. Current coverage includes 1941-1996.

British diplomatic dispatches and files covering the high politics of Independence and Partition, social and cultural interchange after 1947, and the ramifications that these changes continue to have throughout South Asia today.

Visual, manuscript, and printed materials explore the history of fifteen key commodities that have been transported and consumed around the world for hundreds of years, transforming societies, global trading operations, habits of consumption, and cultural practices.

Curated, high quality policy reports, briefs, analyses, working papers, and datasets produced by the world’s leading policy experts, think tanks, research centers, IGOs, and NGOs.

Digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and other primary source materials.

• American Indians and the American West
• American Politics and Society 
• Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle
• International Relations and Military Conflicts
• Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War
• Women's Studies 
• Workers and Labor Unions
 

Accounts of journeys to the Holy Land, India and China tell us much about the attitudes and preconceptions of people across Europe in the medieval period, shedding light on issues of race, economics, trade, militarism, politics, literature, and science.

Monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more. Collections: British Politics and Society, Asia & The West, British Theatre and Popular Culture, Corvey Collection of European Literature, Europe and Africa, Photography, Science, Technology, and Medicine Parts 1 & 2, Women Transnational Networks, Children Literature and Childhood, Mapping the World, Religion and the Periodical.

This collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba.

Full text of surveys, budgets, statistical records, case studies, planning documents, training manuals, policy guidelines, reports, and news from the world’s top cities, capital cities with populations greater than 20,000 people, major cities in the Global South, and cities with particular research importance - such as those dealing with climate change, political instability, or rapid growth.