Tips
Suggested search keywords: "political", "federal art project", "public art", "monument", "mural", "propaganda", "civic"
Returning America's Art to America
Andrew Winter, The Gulls at Monhegan (1936).
- Returning America's Art to AmericaA short documentary film showcasing the U.S. General Services Administration's (GSA) efforts to recover lost and stolen Depression-era artwork. As the official custodian of artwork produced as part of the New Deal and Work Progress Administration commissioned during the 1930s and 1940s, GSA works with other federal agencies and the arts community to recover these historically significant pieces. The film highlights the partnership, which is putting many of these lost works back on display through loans to museums and galleries across the country, where they can be enjoyed by the American public.
Public Art in Nashville
- Explore Nashville ArtA database of public works of art around Nashville, arranged by neighborhood.
General Image Resources for Public and Political Art
- DPLA ImagesThis tool allows you to search for image-based entries in the Digital Public Library of America. Try the suggested search terms in the left column.
- New York Public Library Digital CollectionsTry the suggested search terms in the left column.
- Public Art ArchivePublic Art Archive is a site documenting public works across the United States. It is supported by the Western States Arts Federation (WESTAF).
- Public Art in Public PlacesDocumentation and some images for public art installations in Los Angeles, southern California, and Hawaii.
- Urban Archives Digital CollectionsA digital archives documenting urban landscapes, including images of graffiti, public art, advertising, signage, and architectural design. Great for contemporary and extant works. Follow the link to the University of Washington Library's digital resources for more extensive collections.
Specific Image Collections
- From Model to Monument: American Public Sculpture, 1865–1915A Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History collection focusing on American public sculpture, including essays and works from the Met's collection.
- Library of Congress: Works Progress Administration PostersThis collection consists of posters produced from 1936 to 1943 by the WPA. The posters were designed to publicize exhibits, community activities, theatrical productions, and health and educational programs.
- Lincoln Memorial MuralsHigh resolution images, documentation, and interpretative materials relating to the Lincoln Memorial Murals by Jules Guerin.
- Living New DealAn extensive online database of New Deal era projects in the United States, including civic buildings, art, and parks.
- New York City Parks: Permanent Art and MonumentsA database of the over 1,000 monuments on public display in New York City parks.
