Psychology and Human Development Resources (P&HD): Testing and Measurement

Vanderbilt has many numbers of the Wiley Essentials of Psychological Assessment series. Titles with an asterisk (*) are available in print. (Search for print titles in our catalog.)

Essentials of 16PF Assessment*
Essentials of Adaptive Behavior Assessment of Neurodevelopmental Disorders
Essentials of ADHD Assessment for Children and Adolescents
Essentials of Assessing, Preventing, and Overcoming Reading Difficulties
Essentials of Assessment Report Writing (2nd ed. in print)
Essentials of Assessment with Brief Intelligence Tests*
Essentials of Autism Spectrum Disorders Evaluation and Assessment
Essentials of Behavioral Assessment*
Essentials of CAS Assessment*
Essentials of CAS2 Assessment
Essentials of Cognitive Assessment with KAIT and Other Kaufman Measures*
Essentials of Conners Behavior Assessments*
Essentials of Creativity Assessment*
Essentials of Cross-Battery Assessment
Essentials of Dyslexia Assessment and Intervention
Essentials of Evidence-Based Academic Interventions*
Essentials of Forensic Psychological Assessment*
Essentials of Gifted Assessment
Essentials of Individual Achievement Assessment*
Essentials of KABC-II Assessment
Essentials of Intellectual Disability Assessment and Identification
Essentials of Millon Inventories Assessment*
Essentials of MCMI-IV Assessment
Essentials of MMPI-A Assessment*
Essentials of MMPI-2 Assessment
Essentials of Myers-Briggs Type Indicator Assessment*
Essentials of NEPSY Assessment*
Essentials of Nonverbal Assessment*
Essentials of PAI Assessment*
Essentials of Planning, Selecting, and Tailoring Interventions for Unique Learners
Essentials of Processing Assessment
Essentials of Response to Intervention*
Essentials of Rorshach Assessment*
Essentials of School Neuropsychological Assessment*
Essentials of Specific Learning Disability Identification*
Essentials of Stanford-Binet Intelligence Scales (SB5)*
Essentials of TAT and Other Storytelling Techniques Assessment*
Essentials of WAIS-III Assessment*
Essentials of WAIS-IV Assessment
Essentials of WIAT-III and KTEA-II Assessment*
Essentials of WISC-III and WPPSI-R Assessment*
Essentials of WISC-IV Assessment*
Essentials of WISC-V Assessment*
Essentials of WISC-V Integrated Assessment
Essentials of WJ III Cognitive Abilities Assessment*
Essentials of WJ III Tests of Achievement Assessment*
Essentials of WJ IV Tests of Achievement
Essentials of WPPSI-III Assessment*
Essentials of WPPSI-IV Assessment
Essentials of WRAML2 and TOMAL-2 Assessment*

A Compendium of Neuropsychological Tests: Fundamentals of Neuropsychological Assessment and Test Reviews for Clinical Practice (Oxford, 2022)
(Print only: RC386.6 .N48 S67 2022 -- Peabody Library reference)

Measures for Clinical Practice and Research: A Sourcebook. Oxford University Press
(Print only: BF176 .C66. Fourth edition [2007]--Central Library stacks; Sixth edition [2020]--Peabody Library reference)

Measures of Personality and Social Psychological Attitudes. (Academic Press, 1991)
(Print and online: BF698.4 .M38 1991--Central Library stacks)

Handbook of Tests and Measurement in Education and the Social Sciences
(Print only: LB3051 .L4543. Second edition [2000]; Third edition [2014]--Peabody Library stacks)

Taking the Measure of Work: A Guide to Validated Scales for Organizational Research and Diagnosis. (Sage, 2002)
(Print and online: Use link above to request annex copy)

Handbook of Sexuality-Related Measures. (Routledge)
(Third edition [2011] online; fourth edition [2020] in print--Peabody Library reference: HQ60 .H36 2020) 

If you are looking for information on psychological or educational tests, the following sources are good places to start.

Mental Measurements Yearbook With Tests in Print
This is the most comprehensive resource for information on tests’ norms, content and scoring, validity, and reliability. Select "Test Name" from the search-box drop-down menu and search for the test of your choice.

PsycTests
Unlike Mental Measurements, PsycTests has both descriptive summaries of tests (taken mostly from the peer-reviewed literature) and also the full text of many tests. This is the best source to search for the full text of a desired measure.

PsycINFO
PsycINFO records the tests and measures used in the studies it indexes. To search for studies that use a particular test, select “Test and Measure” from the search drop-down menu and type the name of the test.

Test Critiques
This 11-volume print series collects in-depth reviews of prominent tests. Find it in the reference section of Peabody Library under call number BF176 .T419.

Tests in Print
A standard print reference with the names of and basic information about all tests in print. The most recent volume is from 2016. You can find it in the reference section of Peabody Library under call number Z5814 .E9 T47.

Directory of Unpublished Mental Measurements
All volumes of this useful directory are in the Peabody reference section under call number BF431 .G625.

Measures for Psychological Assessment: A Guide to 3,000 Original Sources and Their Applications
Published by the University of Michigan in 1975, this book is invaluable for identifying older assessments. In the Peabody reference section at BF698.5 .C45.

An Introduction to Psychological Tests and Scales. (Routledge, 2020)
(Online only)

Psychometrics and Psychological Assessment: Principles and Applications. (London: Academic Press, 2017)
(Online only)

Handbook of Test Development. 2nd ed. (Routledge, 2016)
(Print only: LB3051 .H31987 2016 -- Peabody Library stacks)

Standards for Educational and Psychological Testing. (American Educational Research Association, 2014)
(Print only: LB3051 .A693 2014 -- Peabody Library reference)

Psychometric Methods: Theory into Practice. (New York: Guilford, 2017)
(Print only: BF39 .P685 2017 -- Peabody Library stacks)

Essentials of Psychological Testing. 2nd ed. (Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2014)
(Online only)

Measures of Personality and Social Psychological Constructs. (Academic Press, 2015)
(Online only)

Clinician's Guide to Psychological Assessment and Testing: With Forms and Templates for Effective Practice. (New York: Springer, 2012)
(Online only)

Oxford Handbook of Child Psychological Assessment. (New York: Oxford UP, 2013)
(Online only)

Oxford Handbook of Infant, Toddler, and Preschool Mental Health Assessment (2nd ed.). (Oxford UP, 2019)
(Online only)

A Handbook for the Assessment of Children's Behaviors. (Chichester, UK: Wiley-Blackwell, 2012)
(Online only)

Handbook of Personality Assessment. 2nd ed. (Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2017)
(Online only) 

Handbook of Psychiatric Measures. 2nd ed. (APA, 2008)
(Online only)

Tests: A Comprehensive Reference for Assessment in Psychology, Education, and Business. 6th ed. (Austin, TX: Pro-Ed, 2008)
(Print only: BF176 .T43 2008 -- Central Library reference)

Psychological Assessment of Culturally and Linguistically Diverse Children and Adolescents: A Practitioner's Guide. (New York: Springer, 2015)
(Online only)

Handbook of Sexuality Related Measures. 3rd. ed. (Routledge, 2011)
(Online only)

Dynamic Assessment in Practice: Clinical and Educational Applications. (Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 2007)
(Print only: RJ496 .L4 H39 2007 -- Peabody Library stacks)

Dictionary of Psychological Testing, Assessment, and Treatment. 2nd ed. (London: Jessica Kingsley Publishers, 2007)
(Online and print: BF176 .S78 2007 -- Peabody Library reference)

Comprehensive Handbook of Psychological Assessment. 4 vol. (Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2004)
(Print only: BF176 .C654 2004 -- Peabody Library reference)

Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment. (London: SAGE, 2003)
(Online and print: BF39 .E497 2003 -- Central Library reference)

Tools for Strengths Based Assessment and Evaluation. (Springer, 2013)
(Online only)

Intelligent Testing with the WISC-V. (Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2016)
(Print only: BF432.5 .W42 K38 2016 -- Peabody Library stacks)

A Compendium of Psychosocial Measures: Assessment of People with Serious Mental Illnesses in the Community. (Springer, 2010)
(Online only)

Handbook of Family Measurement Techniques. 3 vol. (Sage, 2001)
(Print only: Central Library reference-- HQ728 .H267 2001)