Psychology handbooks
Oxford Psychology Handbooks
The Vanderbilt Libraries have electronic access to all Oxford Psychology Handbooks published since 2013--more than 100 handbooks in all. Click the link above to see a searchable list of the available handbooks. See the bottom of the page for available older handbooks.
Handbook of Psychology. 2nd ed. 12 volumes. (New York: Wiley, 2012)
(Online only)
[1st edition of this title is available in Central Library reference: BF121 .H1955 2003]
Handbook of Psychophysiology. 4th ed. (Cambridge, UK: Cambridge UP, 2016)
(Online only)
Handbook of Child Psychology and Developmental Science. 4 volumes. (Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2015)
(Print only: BF721. H242 2015 -- Peabody Library reference)
Wiley Handbook of Developmental Psychology in Practice. (West Sussex, UK: Wiley-Blackwell, 2015)
(Online only)
APA Educational Psychology Handbook. 3 volumes. (Washington, DC: APA, 2012)
(Print only: LB1051 .A618 2012 -- Peabody Library reference)
APA Handbook of Contemporary Family Psychology. (APA, 2019)
(Print only: RC488.5 .A63 2019 -- Peabody Library stacks)
APA Handbook of Research Methods in Psychology. 3 volumes. (Washington, DC: APA, 2012)
(Print only: BF76.5 .A73 2012 -- Peabody Library reference)
APA Handbook of Sexuality and Psychology. 2 volumes. (Washington, DC: APA, 2014)
(Online only: Volume 1 ; Volume 2)
APA Handbook of Psychology, Religion, and Spirituality. 2 volumes. (Washington, DC: APA, 2013)
(Online only: Volume 1 ; Volume 2)
APA Handbook of Trauma Psychology. (APA, 2017)
(Print only: RC552 .T7 A63 2017 -- Peabody Library stacks)
Cambridge Handbook of Behavior Change. (Cambridge, 2020)
(Print only: RC489 .B4 2020 -- Peabody Library stacks)
Cambridge Handbook of Child Language. 2nd ed. (Cambridge, UK: Cambridge UP, 2015)
(Online only)
Cambridge Handbook of Clinical Assessment and Diagnosis. (Cambridge UP, 2019)
(Online only)
Cambridge Handbook of Cognitive Linguistics. (Cambridge, UK: Cambridge UP, 2017)
(Online only)
Cambridge Handbook of Cognitive Science. (Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 2012)
(Online only)
Cambridge Handbook of Computational Psychology. (Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 2008)
(Print only: BF311 .C187 2008 -- Central Library stacks)
Cambridge Handbook of Consciousness. (Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 2007)
(Print only: B808.9 .C36 2007 -- Central Library stacks)
Cambridge Handbook of Consumer Psychology. (Cambridge, 2022)
(Online only)
Cambridge Handbook of Creativity and Emotions. (Cambridge, 2023)
(Online only)
Cambridge Handbook of Creativity. (Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 2010)
(Online only)
Cambridge Handbook of Evolutionary Perspectives on Human Behavior. (Cambridge UP, 2020)
(Online only)
Cambridge Handbook of Intelligence. (Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 2011)
(Online only)
Cambridge Handbook of Language Learning. (Cambridge UP, 2019)
(Online only)
Cambridge Handbook of the Learning Sciences. (Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 2006)
(Online and print: LB1060 .C35 2006 -- Peabody Library stacks)
Cambridge Handbook of Metaphor and Thought. (Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 2008)
(Print only: P301.5 .M48 C35 2008 -- Central Library stacks)
Cambridge Handbook of Psychology and Economic Behavior. (Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 2008)
(Print only: HB74 .P8 C365 2008 -- Central Library stacks)
Cambridge Handbook of Situated Cognition. (Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 2009)
(Print only: BF311 .C19 2009 -- Central Library stacks)
Cambridge Handbook of Sociocultural Psychology. (Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 2007)
(Print only: HM1033 .C34 2007 -- Central Library stacks)
Cambridge Handbook of Thinking and Reasoning. (Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 2005)
(Online and print: BF441 .C265 2005 -- Central Library stacks)
Cambridge Handbook of Visuospatial Thinking. (Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 2005)
(Print only: BF316.6 .C36 2005 -- Central Library stacks)
Essential Psychotherapies. 4th ed. (Guilford, 2020)
(Online only)
Handbook of African American Psychology. (Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE, 2009)
(Print only: E185.625 .H35 -- Central Library stacks)
Handbook of Assessment and Treatment Planning for Psychological Disorders. 3rd ed. (Guilford, 2020)
(Online only)
Handbook of Developmental Cognitive Neuroscience. 2nd ed. (Cambridge, MA: MIT Press, 2008)
(Online only)
Handbook of Item Response Theory. 3 volumes (CRC Press, 2016)
(Online only)
Handbook of Personality: Theory and Research. 4th ed. (Guilford, 2021)
(Online only)
Handbook of Trauma, Traumatic Loss, and Adversity in Children: Development, Adversity’s Impacts, and Methods of Intervention. (Routledge, 2019)
(Online only)
Handbook of Spatial Cognition. (Washington, DC: APA, 2013)
(Online and print: BF311 .H3346 2013 -- Central Library stacks)
Handbook of Psycholinguistics. 2nd ed. (Boston: Elsevier, 2006)
(Online only)
IAAP Handbook of Applied Psychology. (Malden, MA: Wiley-Blackwell, 2011)
(Online only)
Oxford Companion to the Mind. 2nd ed. (New York: Oxford UP, 2004)
(Online and print: BF31 .O94 2004 -- Central Library stacks)
Oxford Handbook of Anxiety and Related Disorders. (New York: Oxford UP, 2009)
(Print only: RC531 .O94 2009 -- Central Library stacks)
Oxford Handbook of Culture and Psychology. (New York: Oxford UP, 2012)
(Online only)
Oxford Handbook of Eating Disorders. (New York: Oxford UP, 2010)
(Print only: RC552 .E18 .O97 2010 -- Central Library stacks)
Oxford Handbook of Eye Movements. (New York: Oxford UP, 2011)
(Online only)
Oxford Handbook of Interdisciplinarity. (Oxford: Oxford UP, 2017)
(Online only)
Oxford Handbook of Personality and Social Psychology. (New York: Oxford UP, 2012)
(Print only: BF131 .O94 2012 -- Peabody Library stacks)
Oxford Handbook of Philosophy and Neuroscience. (New York: Oxford UP, 2009)
(Online only)
Oxford Handbook of Philosophy of Cognitive Science. (New York: Oxford UP, 2012)
(Online only)
Oxford Handbook of Positive Psychology and Work. (New York: Oxford UP, 2010)
(Print only: BF204.6 .O954 2010 -- Central Library stacks)
Oxford Handbook of Psycholinguistics. (New York: Oxford UP, 2007)
(Print only: BF455 .O94 2007 -- Central Library stacks)
Oxford Handbook of Thinking and Reasoning. (New York: Oxford UP, 2013)
(Print only: BF441 .O94 2013 -- Peabody Library stacks)
Routledge Handbook of Sociocultural Theory and Second Language Development (Routledge, 2018)
(Online only)
Sage Handbook of Early Childhood Research. (Sage, 2016)
(Online only)
SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research in Psychology. 2nd ed. (Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE, 2017)
(Online only)
Treatment of Disorders in Childhood and Adolescence. 4th ed. (Guilford, 2019)
(Online only)
Wiley Handbook of Contextual Behavioral Science. (West Sussex, UK: Wiley, 2016)
(Online only)
Wiley Handbook of Theoretic and Philosophical Psychology: Methods, Approaches, and New Directions for Social Sciences. (West Sussex, UK: Wiley, 2015)
(Online only)
DSM-5
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (often abbreviated DSM-5-TR) is the standard reference for information on the classification and diagnosis of psychiatric disorders. You can find a print copy in the reference sections of Peabody and Central Libraries (call number RC455.2 .C4 D54). Or you can read DSM-5-TR online here. See also the DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis and DSM-5 Clinical Cases.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
DICTIONARIES
A Dictionary of Psychology. 4th ed. (New York: Oxford UP, 2015)
(Online only)
APA Dictionary of Psychology. 2nd ed. (Washington, DC: APA, 2015)
(Online only)
APA College Dictionary of Psychology. 2nd ed. (Washington, DC: APA, 2016)
(Online only)
Cambridge Dictionary of Psychology. (New York: Cambridge UP, 2009)
(Print only: BF31 .C28 2009 -- Central Library stacks)
The SAGE Glossary of the Social and Behavioral Sciences. (Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE, c2009)
(Online only)
Dictionary of Theories, Laws, and Concepts in Psychology. (Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1998)
(Online and print: BF31. R625 1998 -- Central Library reference)
Dictionary of Psychological Testing, Assessment, and Treatment. 2nd ed. (Philadelphia: Jessica Kingsley, 2007)
(Online and print: BF176. S78 2007 -- Peabody Library reference)
Elsevier's Dictionary of Psychological Theories. (Boston: Elsevier, 2006)
(Print only: BF31 .E44 2006 -- Central Library reference)
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the History of Modern Psychology. (Oxford, 2022)
The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology. 4th ed. 4 volumes. (New York: Wiley, 2010)
(Online only)
The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology. 3rd ed. 2 volumes. (Farmington Hills, MI: Gale, 2016)
(Online only)
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development. 2nd ed. (Cambridge, UK: Cambridge UP, 2017)
(Online only)
SAGE Encyclopedia of Psychology and Gender. (Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE, 2017)
(Online only)
SAGE Encyclopedia of Theory in Psychology. (Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE, 2016)
(Online only)
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences. 2nd ed. (Elsevier, 2015)
(Online only)
One of the great browsing titles
The Encyclopedia of Psychology. 8 volumes. (New York: Oxford UP, 2000)
(Print only: BF31 .E52 2000 -- Central Library reference)
The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science. 3rd ed. (Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2004)
(Print only: BF 31 .E54 2004 -- Peabody Library reference)
The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Health, Illness, Behavior, and Society. 4 volumes. (Chichester, UK: Wiley, 2014)
(Online only)
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences. (Amsterdam: Elsevier, c2002)
(Online only)
The Encyclopedia of Social Psychology. 2 volumes. (Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 2007)
(Online only)
Magill's Encyclopedia of Social Science: Psychology. (Pasadena, CA: Salem Press, 2003)
(Print only: BF31 .M33 2003 -- Peabody Library reference)
The Encyclopedia of Human Emotions. 2 volumes. (New York: Macmillan, 1999)
(Print only: BF531 .E55 1999 -- Central Library reference)
The MIT Encyclopedia of the Cognitive Sciences. (Cambridge: MIT Press, 1999)
(Print only: BF311 .M556 1999 -- Annex & Peabody Library stacks)
