Research Guides: CSR and ESG: Corporate Governance

CSR Company Reports & Rankings

Websites with CSR company information.

Corporate Rap Sheet
Dossiers summarizing significant violations and other questionable activities of the largest and most controversial companies.
Corporate Register
Companies CSR reports. Free resource, but must sign-up.
Global Reporting
Company CSR reports.
100 Most Just Companies in America
via Forbes magazine.
They Rule
Map relationships between institutions, directors and companies.
Transparency International
Corporate corruption index.

Corporate Governance: An International Review
Focuses on the governance of all types, sizes and forms of corporate entity, whatever their cultural under-pinning, wherever they are incorporated or operate, and with diverse ownership or membership structures.
Corporate Governance Report
Corporate Governance Report covers key judicial, regulatory, and industry trends and developments in the corporate governance field.

These databases are particularly useful for reports on specific company corporate governance information.

Bloomberg This link opens in a new window
Real-time and historical information on economic conditions, market data and public companies worldwide along with governments, mortgages, money markets, bonds, commodities, stocks, and currencies.
Access Note: Available on Walker Management Library computers, Calhoun 215 office computer, and the computer on the 4th floor of Central with dual monitors.

Top databases for business ethics, corporate environmental and social responsibility and governance.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers most business areas: management, marketing, economics, finance, accounting, & international business. Includes company reports, SWOT analyses, working papers, country reports, industry reports, case studies, etc.
Conference Board This link opens in a new window
Economic data and business management research and trends. Consumer Confidence Index; macroeconomic time series on global output, input, and productivity; annual reports on executive compensation and corporate giving.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Business magazines, trade publications, and newspapers; includes the Wall Street Journal.
Logs out after 15 minutes of inactivity.
Libguide for Factiva
Foundation Directory Online This link opens in a new window
Information on grantmakers and grants. Database of foundations, corporate giving programs, grantmaking public charities, sponsoring companies, recently awarded grants, and recently-filed IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
News and newspaper stories, federal and state court cases, US law reviews and journals, company profiles and directories. Company Dossier; data on public figures.
Access Note: Personal account required for some functionality.

ProQuest
A multi-disciplinary database with full text availability for nearly 2,000 journals in all academic fields. It includes same-day, full-text coverage of the Wall Street Journal.
more...less...
All current Vanderbilt University students, faculty, and staff have access, both on and off campus.

Websites on best practices in corporate governance.

BC Center for Corporate Citizenship
Membership-based knowledge center. Must register for premium content, including "How to Read a Corporate Social Responsibility Report: A user’s guide"
Corporate Governance & Capital Markets
From the IFC - International Finance Corporation/World Bank
Deloitte Corporate Governance & Accountability
Includes the Center for Corporate Governance, Board Governance Benchmarking and other resources.
Ernst & Young Corporate Governance:
Includes resources like the Board Matters Quarterly, and Emerging Trends.
European Corporate Governance Institute
PWC Corporate Governance Publications
Perspective on CSR issues.
Global Reporting
Assistance with GRI reporting guidelines.
Society of Corporate Governance
CSR professional association.