Research Guides: Business Research Guide: Free Internet Sources: Data & Statistics

Easy Stats

Recommended Websites for United States Data & Statistics

The United States government compiles, analyzes and distributes data in a myriad of sectors focusing on demographics, population, industry, etc. The websites and data sets most used for business research are highlighted below.

Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality
The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's (AHRQ-a division of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services)) mission is to improve the quality, safety, efficiency, and effectiveness of health care in the United States. Includes research tools and data on healthcare utilization and cost, medical expenditures and state snapshots.
American Community Survey
Ongoing survey that provides data every year giving communities and businesses the current information they need to plan investments and services. Product of the U.S. Census Bureau.
American Factfinder
Provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data comes from several U.S. censuses and surveys.
BusinessUSA Data
Collection of federal agency data resources. Use the Find Resources tab for specialty data types.
City-Data.com (Statistics about U.S. cities)
Profiles of cities across the United States based on compilations of data from across various sources. Includes business rankings, household demographics, mortgage statistics, crime data, etc.
County Business Patterns
Annual series that provides sub-national economic data by industry. This series includes the number of establishments, employment during the week of March 12, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll. This data is useful for studying the economic activity of small areas.
Data.gov
Easily find, download, and use datasets that are generated and held by the Federal Government. Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets.
Freelunch.com
Free economic data provided by Moody's Analytics. Users can quickly and easily chart and download economic data.
GPO: Historical Economic Indicators (1995-Present)
Available from April 1995 forward, this monthly publication is prepared by the Council of Economic Advisers for the Joint Economic Committee. It provides economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics.
National Center for Health Statistics
Principal health statistics agency for the United States.
U.S Centers for Disease Control Statistics
Provides access to data sets and tools produced by the CDC and NCHS. Includes: health data interactive, Vital Stats, Health Indicators Warehouse, and both simple and complex data series tools.
U.S. Census Bureau: State and County Quick Facts
Quick, easy access to facts about people, business, and geography for all states and counties in the United States, as well as for cities and towns with more than 5,000 people.
U.S. Census Bureau: Statistical Abstract
The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
U.S. Department of Labor: Bureau of Labor Statistics
Statistics measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.
U.S.Department of Commerce: Bureau of Economic Analysis
Provides a quantitative view of US domestic production, consumption, and investment, of exports and imports, and of national and domestic income and saving. It features the estimates of GDP.

Recommended Websites for International Data & Statistics

International data can be more challenging to find due to language barriers and individual government attitudes about flow of information. The following websites are highlighted as solid sources of accurate and timely international statistics.

CIA World Factbook
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
NationMaster.com
Graphically compare nations using this compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD.
World Bank
Contains statistics on health, nutrition and population
International Monetary Fund Data & Statistics
A range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators for IMF member countries.
LABORSTA Internet (International Labor Statistics)
Data and metadata for over 200 countries or territories from LABORSTA, an International Labour Office database on labor statistics. Operated by the ILO Department of Statistics.
World Bank Data
Free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe.

Business Research Guide: Free Internet Sources: Data & Statistics

Easy Stats

Recommended Websites for United States Data & Statistics

Recommended Websites for International Data & Statistics

FRED Economic Data

Chart of the Day