Special Collections at the Wilson Music Library: Global Music Archive

An overview of the special collections available for students, faculty, and researchers held by the Anne Potter Wilson Music Library.

About the Global Music Archive:

The Global Music Archive is a multi-media reference archive and resource center for traditional and popular song, music, and dance of Africa and the Americas. It is a public facility that promotes education in African and American traditional and popular music through its own activities and by supporting the activities of others. The archive is housed within the Anne Potter Wilson Music Library in Vanderbilt University’s Blair School of Music. It includes public spaces for the study of materials, and audio and video listening and viewing facilities. 

The GMA’s primary mission is to provide access to sound recordings and images of indigenous music from communities in Africa and the Americas. Founded in 2003 by Gregory Barz, Professor of Musicology (Ethnomusicology) at Vanderbilt University and the Anne Potter Wilson Music Library, the GMA contains several online collections (additional description and access to these collections is provided in the sub-tabs to this page):

  • The Digital Collection of East African Recordings (DCEAR): over 1,600 discrete musical performances recorded by an East African ethnomusicologist, Centurio Balikoowa.
  • The Applachian Dulcimer Archive: documentation and recordings related to the straight-sided dulcimer in Tennessee, commonly known as the "Tennessee Music Box."
  • A new collection will be launched in the fall of 2019.