It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To fully research your seminar paper, you may need to find information outside of the usual law sources, including statistics, policy positions, and other information not found on Westlaw, Lexis Advance, or Bloomberg Law. Often times, advocacy groups such as the ones mentioned throughout this LibGuide will have helpful materials. Another place you can find non-law materials are in other Vanderbilt University Databases. This page collects some resources that may be helpful when doing this type of research.
The following is a collection of websites maintained by music industry, artist, and advocacy organizations. Some are designed to be neutral and educational, while others may have a specific bias or agenda.
The Forum describes itself as ,the largest national organization in the entertainment and sports law area. It has ten divisions devoted to specialty areas, including a Music & Personal Appearances division, and a Motion Pictures, Television, Cable, and Radio division.
ASCAP is a "membership association of more than 300,000 U.S. composers, songwriters, lyricists, and music publishers of every kind of music. ASCAP is the only U.S. performing rights organization created and controlled by composers, songwriters and music publishers, with a Board of Directors elected by and from the membership."
"Future of Music Coalition is a national nonprofit organization that works to ensure a diverse musical culture where artists flourish, are compensated fairly for their work, and where fans can find the music they want."
Cases database contains over 100 judicial opinions on music copyright infringement from the US and Common Law nations, with commentary, related scores, audio and video. Also includes coverage of recent and current disputes (including those that do not go to trial), a glossary of terms commonly used in music law, and a collection of news, music technology discussions, and other features covering topics relating to copyright infringement.
Federal, state, and international statistical, economic, demographic, and geographic information. National income and production statistics, retail and wholesale trade data, interest rates, economic indicators, and social and demographic statistics, plus data on energy, environmental protection, agriculture, fisheries, crime, etc.
Coverage: From the U.S. government, 1973 to present; from international intergovernmental, 1983 to present.
Extensive selection of statistics for the United States, with selected data for regions, divisions, states, metropolitan areas, cities, and foreign countries from reports and records of government and private agencies.
Access Note: If prompted to select an account, select Vanderbilt University.
An excellent resource for searching for policy information, analysis, reports, and the like. This is a curated Google Custom Search that searches the websites of more than 1200 partisan and non-partisan think tanks, advocacy groups, non-governmental organizations, and research centers, among others.
We have access to many non-legal databases through other Vanderbilt University libraries. To see the complete list of databases we have access to, go to the Vanderbilt University Libraries Databases page. If you are accessing these databases from off-campus you may be prompted to log-in using your VUNetID.
Some databases that might be particularly helpful:
Coverage of the most important issues of the day, written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, and resources for additional research.
News and periodical articles on business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, etc.
Pro and con articles on important social, political, and economic issues. Reference articles that provide context, magazines, newspapers, primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, and links.
VU Libraries ResearchGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.