LAW 9106 - Music and Copyright Seminar: Current Awareness

David Oxenford, partner at the law firm of Wilkinson Barker Knauer LLP, runs this blog that discusses the FCC, copyright, advertising and other legal issues of importance to radio and television broadcasters and other media companies.

Digital Music News is an information authority for music industry and technology executives. It covers news, entertainment industry analysis, and business intelligence.

Blog published by lawyers at Dentons that covers the newest developments in entertainment and media law.

An industry-leading entertainment law expert reporting on the intersection of Hollywood, Washington, Wall Street, and media.

Entertainment law news and comment from The Hollywood Reporter.

Simon Dyson edits the Omdia industry newsletter, and blogs at Music & Copyright.

Cases database contains over 100 judicial opinions on music copyright infringement from the US and Common Law nations, with commentary, related scores, audio and video. Also includes coverage of recent and current disputes (including those that do not go to trial), a glossary of terms commonly used in music law, and a collection of news, music technology discussions, and other features covering topics relating to copyright infringement.

Musictech.solutions is written by Chris Castle, who writes on a variety of transactional matters in the nexus of music, technology and policy.

Twitter presence of Simon Dyson, blogger at Music & Copyright

Updates on music supervisors, music supervision, music publishing, soundtracks, copyright and sync licensing.

Ben Sisario covers the music industry for The New York Times. His Twitter is not as active his NYT profile, but he can be found @sisario

An industry-leading entertainment law expert reporting on the intersection of Hollywood, Washington, Wall Street, and media.

The Forum describes itself as ,the largest national organization in the entertainment and sports law area. It has ten divisions devoted to specialty areas, including a Music & Personal Appearances division, and a Motion Pictures, Television, Cable, and Radio division.

Labor union representing the interests of professional musicians in the United States and Canada.

ASCAP is a "membership association of more than 300,000 U.S. composers, songwriters, lyricists, and music publishers of every kind of music. ASCAP is the only U.S. performing rights organization created and controlled by composers, songwriters and music publishers, with a Board of Directors elected by and from the membership."

Like ASCAP, BMI is a performance rights organization that collects music performance royalties on behalf of recording artists, songwriters and performers.

The Center for the Protection of Intellectual Property (CPIP) is dedicated to the scholarly analysis of intellectual property rights and the technological, commercial, and creative innovation they facilitate. On September 9-11, 2020, CPIP hosted The Evolving Music Ecosystem conference online from Antonin Scalia Law School, George Mason University, in Arlington, Virginia. The conference featured a keynote address by singer, songwriter, and author Rosanne Cash.

EFF is a non-profit advocacy group involved in litigation and lobbying for the public interest and civil liberties in the digital world.

"Future of Music Coalition is a national nonprofit organization that works to ensure a diverse musical culture where artists flourish, are compensated fairly for their work, and where fans can find the music they want."

Cases database contains over 100 judicial opinions on music copyright infringement from the US and Common Law nations, with commentary, related scores, audio and video. Also includes coverage of recent and current disputes (including those that do not go to trial), a glossary of terms commonly used in music law, and a collection of news, music technology discussions, and other features covering topics relating to copyright infringement.

Industry association representing the interests of sheet music publishers.

Provides information on the issues affecting the recording industry and access to results of research by the RIAA.

Labor union representing performers, journalists, and artists in entertainment and news media.

Although it is smaller than both ASCAP and BMI, SESAC is a third music performance rights organization in the United States.

SoundExchange is similar to ASCAP and other performance rights organizations, and collects royalties for digital performances on satellite radio, Internet radio, and cable television.