It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Schedule a virtual meeting for in-depth research help
The following resources provide good introductions to the music industry and the legal issues it most commonly faces:
Entertainment Law in a Nutshell by Sherri BurrThis compact reference gives a big picture overview of the intellectual property, contract, publicity, estate planning, and First Amendment issues that contribute to the field of entertainment law. Professor Burr also addresses specific legal issues that arise in the film, music, and television industries, including discussion of the rise of "reality" television. This Nutshell is ideal as a secondary text to accompany any entertainment law casebook, as the primary text for a seminar, or as background information for someone requiring an overview. Winner! Best Business Book - 2017 New Mexico/Arizona Book Awards
Call Number: Main Level - Study Aids REF KF4290 .B87 2017
Publication Date: 2017-03-24
All You Need to Know about the Music Business by Donald S. Passman"The industry bible" (Los Angeles Times), now updated, essential for anyone in the music business--musicians, songwriters, lawyers, agents, promoters, publishers, executives, and managers--trying to navigate the rapid transformation of the industry. For more than twenty years, All You Need to Know About the Music Business has been universally regarded as the definitive guide to the music industry. Now in its ninth edition, this latest edition leads novices and experts alike through the crucial, up-to-the-minute information on the industry's major changes in response to today's rapid technological advances and uncertain economy. Whether you are--or aspire to be--a performer, writer, or executive, veteran music lawyer Donald Passman's comprehensive guide is an indispensable tool. He offers timely, authoritative information from how to select and hire a winning team of advisors and structure their commissions and fees; navigate the ins and outs of record deals, songwriting, publishing, and copyrights; maximize concert, touring, and merchandising deals; understand the digital streaming services; and how to take a comprehensive look at the rapidly transforming landscape of the music business as a whole. The music industry is in the eye of the storm, when everyone in the business is scrambling to figure out what's going to happen to the major labels and what it will mean for the careers of artists and business professionals. No musician, songwriter, entertainment lawyer, agent, promoter, publisher, manager, or record company executive--anyone who makes their living from music--can afford to be without All You Need to Know About the Music Business. As Adam Levine, lead singer and guitarist of Maroon 5, says, "If you want to be in music, you have to read this book."
Music Law for the General Practitioner by Thomas R. LeavensMusic law involves several key substantive areas of law copyrights, trademarks, and identity rights, to name a few. While traditional entities such as songwriters and record companies have always existed, technological advances in digital distribution have brought important new players into the mix. Concerns about the usage rights of digital music have emerged as well as agreements arising from the use of music in advertising and branding. Inexpensive duplication technology, the portability and ubiquity of mobile music devices, and the ease of transmitting digital files have also become areas of concern. Music Law for the General Practitioner provides lawyers with comprehensive information on the business and legal topics that are likely to be encountered when representing a musical talent, producer, or consumer. Topics include: - Music publishing - Financing of bands - Record companies and producers - Agents - Taxes - Musicians estate
Call Number: Upper Level KF4291 .L43 2013
Publication Date: 2014-08-07
Music Law in the Digital Age by Allen Bargfrede(Berklee Press). With the free-form exchange of music files and musical ideas online, understanding copyright laws has become essential to career success in the new music marketplace. This cutting-edge, plain-language guide shows you how copyright law drives the contemporary music industry. By looking at the law and its recent history, you will understand the new issues introduced by the digital age, as well as continuing issues of traditional copyright law. Whether you are an artist, lawyer, entertainment Web site administrator, record label executive, student, or other participant in the music industry, this book will help you understand how copyright law affects you, helping you use the law to your benefit. * How do you get fair compensation for your work and avoid making costly mistakes? * Can you control who is selling your music on their website? * Is it legal to create mash-ups? * What qualifies as fair use? * How do you clear another artist's samples to use in your own recordings? * What is the Creative Commons/Copyleft movement? * How do you clear music for use in an online music service or store? * Who decides who gets paid how much and by whom? You will learn the answers to these questions as well as: * The basics of copyright law, looking at the Copyright Act while explaining it in plain language * How revenue streams for music are generated under copyright law * The reasoning behind high-profile court decisions related to copyright violations *What licenses are needed for the legal online delivery of music * The intricacies of using music on sites like YouTube, Pandora, and Spotify * Deficiencies in current copyright law and new business model ideas
Call Number: Upper Level KF3035 .B37 2017
Publication Date: 2017-05-01
Music Law by Richard StimHow to make your band a huge business success Whether you're recording an album, budgeting a tour, or insuring your vintage guitar, you need solid information to make the right legal and business choices. Music Law is the all-in-one guide you need. Written by musician and lawyer Rich Stim, it explains everything you need to: write a partnership agreement buy, insure, and maintain equipment use samples and do covers register your band's name sell and license your music get royalties for streaming and downloads deal with taxes and deductions find the right manager and write a fair contract get gigs and get paid protect your copyright legally deal with legal issues in the recording studio, and understand record contracts. This is quite simply the best business and legal guide for bands ever written. Completely updated to provide the latest in the law and current business practices, it covers music licensing and trends affecting the digital-music scene.
Call Number: Upper Level KF390.E57 S87 2018
Publication Date: 2018-09-30
The Truth about the Music BusinessThis book guides the reader through the variety of stages and steps one takes to make a professional music career into a legal business. It covers important topics that every musician should fully understand before signing a contract, making a recording, or fully pursuing a career. With a straightforward, plain-English approach, this book is written by an attorney who has been on both sides of the desk in the music business. With the advent of modern computer recording technology, more musicians are producing music for sales and seeking careers than ever before. With those careers comes the need for understanding and planning a career that goes past where the next gig is. This useful and easy-to-follow guide helps the reader do just that, therefore providing a path to gain more control over his/her music career.
Call Number: Online Access
Publication Date: 2005-02-18
Further Research Guidance
There are a number of other research guides that may be relevant to music and copyright law research, such as:
This guide focuses on one area of intellectual property law, copyright law, and identifies print and electronic materials on the American federal copyright law system, focusing on the Copyright Act of 1976.
This guide will assist your research on entertainment law including intellectual property, agency, antitrust, contracts, and labor and employment of the film, television, radio, music recording, publishing, theater, and sports industries.
Business databases that include information on the music and entertainment industries. Books on music careers and music industry. Catalogs, publishers, and statistics.
About this Guide
This guide was created to assist Music and Copyright students with researching legal, policy, industry, and other sources of information related to music and copyright. The goal is to provide an overview of the interdisciplinary research resources that are available at Vanderbilt on this subject.
The content of this guide is both narrow and general. It is narrow in that it provides information for a very specific specialty area in intellectual property law. Its coverage is broad as far as primary and secondary sources available to you about copyright law and interdisciplinary resources related to copyright's impact on music. Visit each tab to explore the many research options available to you at Vanderbilt.
This guide was most recently supplemented/updated by Sarah Dunaway. This guide was originally populated by Andrea Alexander, based on a previous seminar LibGuide primarily created and populated by Jason Sowards and supplemented/updated by Carolyn Hamilton. Please direct any questions about this LibGuide to Sarah Dunaway at firstname.lastname@example.org.
VU Libraries ResearchGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.