Research Guides: HIST 4960: Majors Seminar: Shipwrecks: Primary Sources

Primary Source Databases

Gale Primary Sources
Newspapers, books, manuscripts, maps, and photographs. Simultaneously search: 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, Sunday Times (London), Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO), Making of the Modern World, Times Literary Supplement, and Times Digital Archive, Financial Times (London).
American Memory
Written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
British History Online
Core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles.
EEBO - Early English Books Online
Digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in English from 1473-1700.
Empire Online
Manuscript, printed, and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences, predominantly from the British Library. Secondary resources include scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology.
Sabin Americana
Books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, through the early 1900s. Original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions, etc.
Coverage: 1500-1926.
State Papers Online: Early Modern Government in Britain and Europe
British state papers and government documents.

SPO, 1509-1714 encompasses the 16th- and 17th-century State Papers Domestic, Foreign, Scotland, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council from The National Archives, Kew, UK with some series from the British Library.

SPO, Eighteenth Century, 1714-1782 covers the 18th century from the accession of the Hanoverian monarchs to the British throne in 1714 to the end of the State Papers series in 1782.
Coverage: 1509-1782.
Voyages: The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
Records from slaving expeditions from archives and libraries throughout the Atlantic world. Information about vessels, enslaved peoples, slave traders and owners, and trading routes. Statistical tables, graphs, maps, and timelines.
Coverage: 1514-1866.

Legal History & Government Documents

HeinOnline
Comprehensive legal research database. Extensive coverage of law reviews and historical access to resources such as the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, and US Supreme Court decisions. Legislative history and select foreign and international materials. Contains specialized libraries: intellectual property, taxation and economic reform, etc.
Making of Modern Law: Foreign Primary Sources, 1600-1970
Historical legal codes, statutes, regulations, and commentaries on codes from the United Kingdom, France, Germany, and other countries in northern Europe. Crucial sources of historical statutes and regulations for the UK and the Republic of Ireland.
Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources, 1620-1926
State and municipal codes, documents relating to constitutional conventions, and other resources in American legal history.
Proquest Congressional Publications
U.S. Congressional materials (hearings, bills, Congressional Record and compiled legislative histories) and Executive Branch documents.