Searching Online Newspapers
Limit by date range if at all possible as this will reduce the number of results exponentially.
Try combinations of search terms.
Be ready to execute multiple searches in order to get the results you are looking for.
Use specific search terms.
Remember to match the terminology to the time period or issue being discussed (i.e. searching the term "African-American" in 1920s newspaper will get you nowhere)
Historical Newspapers
- America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowCover-to-cover reproductions of early American newspapers offers an unprecedented look back into the history of the United States—the story of its people, ideals, commerce, and everyday life. Includes the following collections: African American Newspapers Series 1 & 2, American Religion: Denominational Newspapers, Caribbean Newspapers, Early American Newspapers, Series 1: From Colonies to Nation Early American Newspapers, Series 2: The New Republic, Early American Newspapers: 1690-1789, Early American Newspapers: 1780-1789, and Hispanic American Newspapers.
- Caribbean Newspapers, Series 1, 1718-1876 This link opens in a new window18th- and 19th-century newspapers from the Caribbean islands.
- Chinese Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new windowHistorical newspapers providing first-hand accounts and coverage of politics, society and events.
- Gale NewsVault This link opens in a new windowIncludes: 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, Economist Historical Archive, Financial Times Historical Archive, Sunday Times Digital Archive, Times Digital Archive, Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive.
- Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new windowNews and newspaper stories, federal and state court cases, US law reviews and journals, company profiles and directories. Company Dossier; data on public figures.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowHistorical access to the following newspapers: Atlanta Constitution, Atlanta Daily World, The Baltimore Afro-American, The Boston Globe, The Chicago Defender, The Christian Science Monitor, Chicago Tribune, The Cincinnati Enquirer, Cleveland Call & Post, The Commercial Appeal, Detroit Free Press, The Globe and Mail, Hartford Courant, The Jerusalem Post, The Jewish Advocate, The Jewish Exponent, Korea Times, Knoxville News Sentinel, Leftist Newspapers, Los Angeles Sentinel, Los Angeles Times, Louisville Courier Journal, Michigan Chronicle, New York Amsterdam News, The New York Times, New York Tribune, Norfolk Journal & Guide, The Philadelphia Tribune, Pittsburgh Courier, San Francisco Chronicle, South China Morning Post, St. Louis Post Dispatch, The Tennessean, The Times of India, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.
- ProQuest News and Newspapers This link opens in a new windowDirect link to the newspaper section of ProQuest. Includes Alt-Press Watch, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Latin American Newsstand, Canadian Newsstand Complete, ProQuest Newsstand, ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Times of London, and The Tennessean.
- World Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new windowHistorical newspapers from North America, Latin America, the Caribbean, Africa and South Asia. (note: North American section includes Mexico, the Caribbean, Central America, and the US.)
Historic Periodicals
- American Periodicals This link opens in a new windowSpecial interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. Includes Ladies' Home Journal, Harper's, and professional journals.
- Economist (Historical Archive) This link opens in a new windowHistorical archive of The Economist. Primary source for politics, current affairs, business, and trade. Topic and area supplements and surveys.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982 This link opens in a new windowIndex of articles from magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature™. Atlantic Monthly, Century Magazine, Christian Century, Commonweal, Foreign Affairs, Fortnightly Review (London), Good Housekeeping, Harper's, Ladies Home Journal, Literary Digest, The Nation, New Republic, Reader's Digest, Saturday Evening Post, Saturday Review, Scribner's, and Women's Home Companion.
Microform Collections
The link above lists back issues of newspapers available in microform at the Central Library. Some titles are located in Government Information & Media Services on the 4th floor and are labeled as GOV-4TH-FL. Other titles are located at the Annex. You will need to order these using the Annex request form. Current issues of some titles are available in print in the Periodicals Room.
You may search using Library Catalog to find other newspapers held in the Heard Library system.
