Research Guides: Architecture General Library Guide: Related Websites

Databases and Collections:

Aga Khan Visual Archive
The Aga Khan Visual Archive (AKVA) consists of over 120,000 slides and digital images of architecture, urbanism, and the built environment in the Islamic world, donated by students, scholars, and architectural firms.
Alvar Aalto's Architecture
This database of Alvar Aalto's architecture is based on the work made in Alvar Aalto Museum with the help of Göran Schildt. All the drawings and photographs are owned by the Museum archives
archINFORM
This online-database for international architecture includes more than "9000 built and unrealized projects from various architects and planners" and focuses on 20th century architecture.
Architecture Magazine Library
USModernist Library, the world's largest open digital collection of major US architecture magazines with over 4.3 million downloadable pages representing over 22,000 issues.
Archive-It Collaborative Architecture, Urbanism, and Sustainability Web Archive (CAUSEWAY)
Archived websites for individual sites across the regions represented by Ivy Plus institutions and beyond. An Ivy Plus Consortium project.
Asian Historical Architecture
With over 35,000 photos from 1,323 sites in twenty-three countries, this photographic survey of Asia's architectural heritage with background information and virtual tours.
Building Technology Heritage Library
Primarily a collection of American and Canadian pre-1964 architectural trade catalogs, house plan books, and technical building guides. These materials can aid in the preservation and conservation of older structures and support scholarly research.
Cities/ Buildings Database
(University of Washington) This database contains more than 5000 images of buildings and cities from around the world.
Dome at MIT
Digital repository for collections from the MIT Libraries, including Rotch Visual Collections and the Institute Archives.
Dynamic National Archive Collection
Database for women architects and designers within the United States.
Library of Congress – Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS)
A digital archive of architectural history and documentation.
Luna Commons - Architectural Images
A collection of over 47,000 images of architecture, archaeological sites, gardens, parks and works of art. Low resolution images are available for free on this site.
Mapping Gothic France
With a database of images, texts, and maps, Mapping Gothic France invites you to explore the parallel stories of Gothic architecture and the formation of France in the 12th and 13th centuries
MIT Press Open Architecture and Urban Studies
A robust digital collection of classic and previously out-of-print architecture and urban studies books, on the digital book platform, MIT Press Direct.
MoMA Architecture & Design Collection
Online archive of key modern architectural projects.
National Inventory of Architectural Heritage (NIAH) (Ireland):
This state initiative in Ireland documents Architectural Heritage and Historic Monuments post-1700 to aid in the protection and conservation of building heritage.
NYC Building Photos
A part of the New York City Municipal Archives Online Gallery.
Structurae
Database for works of structural and civil engineering and many other works including images of interest in the fields of architecture and public works.