Additional Books
Towards a New Architecture by Call Number: Online and Central Stacks NA2520 .J4 1927Publication Date: 1927
The Death and Life of Great American Cities by Call Number: Central Library Stacks; NA9108 .J3Publication Date: 1961
Complexity and Contradiction in Architecture by Call Number: Central Library Art OVERSIZE; A2760 .V46 1977Publication Date: 1984
Architecture Books
The Architecture Reference and Specification Book by
Most architectural standards references contain thousands of pages of details-overwhelmingly more than architects need to know to know on any given day. "The Architecture Reference & Specification Book "contains vital information that's essential to planning and executing architectural projects of all shapes and sizes, in a format that is small enough to carry anywhere. It distills the data provided in standard architectural volumes and is an easy-to-use reference for the most indispensable-and most requested-types of architectural information.
Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2013
Illustrated Dictionary of Architecture by
Including 5000 images and 1500 design-related definitions, this reference text has been organized into six groupings: style from antiquity to the present; building types; design and composition; materials used; building parts and elements; and form.
Call Number: Central Library Stacks ; NA31 .B83 1998Publication Date: 1998
The Oxford Dictionary of Architecture by
Containing over 6,000 entries from Aalto to Zwinger and written in a clear and concise style, this authoritative dictionary covers architectural history in detail, from ancient times to the present day. It also includes concise biographies of hundreds of architects from history (excluding living persons), from Sir Francis Bacon and Imhotep to Liang Ssu-ch'eng and Francis Inigo Thomas. The text is complemented by over 260 beautiful and meticulous line drawings, labelled cross-sections, and diagrams. These include precise drawings of typical building features, making it easy for readers to identify particular period styles. This third edition of The Oxford Dictionary of Architecture has been extensively revised and expanded, with over 900 new entries including hundreds of definitions of garden and landscape terms such as Baroque garden, floral clock, hortus conclusus, and Zen garden-design. Each entry is followed by a mini-bibliography, with suggestions for further reading. With clear descriptions providing in-depth analysis, it is invaluable for students, professional architects, art historians, and anyone interested in architecture and garden design, and provides a fascinating wealth of information for the general reader.
Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2015
A Global History of Architecture by
A GLOBAL HISTORY OF ARCHITECTURE NOW FEATURING ADDITIONAL COVERAGE OF CONTEMPORARY GLOBAL ARCHITECTURE AND MORE SUPERB DRAWINGS BY FRANCIS D.K. CHING! The book that forever changed the way architectural history is viewed, taught, and studied, A Global History of Architecture examines 5,000 years of the built environment. Spanning from 3,500 BCE to the present, and organized along a global timeline, this unique guide was written by experts in their fields who emphasize the connections, contrasts, and influences of architectural movements throughout history and around the world. Fully updated and revised to reflect current scholarship, this Third Edition features expanded chapter introductions that set the stage for a global view, as well as: An expanded section on contemporary global architecture More coverage of non-Western cultures, particularly South Asia, South East Asia Pre-Columbian America, and Africa. New drawings and maps by the iconic Francis D.K. Ching, as well as more stunning photographs An updated companion website with digital learning tools and Google Earth(tm) mapping service coordinates that make it easier to find sites Art and architecture enthusiasts, and anyone interested in architectural history, will have 5,000 years of the built environment perpetually at their fingertips with A Global History of Architecture, Third Edition.
Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2017
Modern Architecture Since 1900 by
Since its first publication in 1982, Modern Architecture Since 1900 has become established as a contemporary classic. Worldwide in scope, it combines a clear historical outline with masterly analysis and interpretation. Technical, economic, social and intellectual developments are brought together in a comprehensive narrative which provides a setting for the detailed examination of buildings. Throughout the book the author's focus is on the individual architect, and on the qualities that give outstanding buildings their lasting value. For the third edition the text has been radically revised and expanded, incorporating much new material and a fresh appreciation of regional identity and variety. Almost every chapter has been expanded and updated, and seven chapters are entirely new, including the whole of Part Four, which covers recent world architecture. Described by James Ackerman of Harvard University as 'immeasurably the finest work covering this field in existence', this book presents a penetrating analysis of the modern tradition and its origins, and traces the creative interaction between old and new that has generated such an astonishing richness of architectural forms throughout the century.
Call Number: Central Library; Art Books ; NA680 .C87 1996 PPublication Date: 1996
A History of Architecture by
Ten years in the making, A History of Architecture ranges from the first prehistoric environments on record to the most recent examples of urban design. A landmark work of impressive scope, the book is enhanced by 700 halftone illustrations and 150 drawings especially prepared by architect Richard Tobias. Kostof's range of study includes not only the monumental religious, governmental and upper-class structures around which architectural history has usually been written but also the diversity of ordinary domestic, rural, and urban buildings, and landscapes which surround them. Moreover, Kostof evaluates Western achievement in the context of contemporary cultures elsewhere. Thus he duscusses the high points of imperial Rome along with Buddhist stupas and Han palaces, compares medieval Florence with medieval Cairo, and introduces Inca and Aztec cities as the Spanish conquistadores would have seen them. The author's premise is that buldings are conditioned by the social, economic, and political frame of their time; in this sense, Kostof concludes, the history of architecture can be considered an aspect of the history of human institutions. "Architecture, in the end," he writes, "is nothing less than the gift of making places for some human purpose." About the Author: Spiro Kostof is Professor of Architectural History at the University of California at Berkeley. He is a former president of the Society of Architectural Historians and is the author of several books, among them Caves of God and The Third Rime, 1870-1950: Traffic and Glory, and editor of The Architect: Chapters in the History of the Profession
Call Number: Central Library; 8th Floor Art Oversize Books ; NA200 .K65 1985Publication Date: 1985
Architectural Drawing
Architectural Graphics by
Architectural Graphics focuses on the techniques, methodologies, and graphic tools used in conveying architectural ideas. The book takes a look at equipment and materials, architectural drafting, and architectural drawing conventions. Discussions focus on drawing pencils, technical drawing pens, set squares/templates, circle templates/compasses, line weight/line types, drafting technique, drawing circular elements, floor plan, doors and windows in plan, stairs, wall indications, plan grids, and site boundaries. The manuscript examines rendition of value and context and graphic symbols and lettering. Topics include tonal values, media and techniques, value/texture rendition, material rendition, shades and shadows, people, furniture, graphic representation symbols, and hand lettering. The text explores freehand drawing and architectural presentations, including freehand sketching, graphic diagraming, and sketching equipment. The publication is a valuable reference for architects interested in doing further studies in architectural graphics.
Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2014
Architectural Graphic Standards by
ARCHITECTURAL GRAPHIC STANDARDS THE LANDMARK UPDATE OF THE MOST RECOGNIZED STUDENT RESOURCE IN ARCHITECTURE The Student Edition of the iconic Architectural Graphic Standards has been a rite of passage for architecture, building, and engineering students for more than eighty years. Thoughtfully distilled from the Twelfth Edition of Architectural Graphic Standards and reorganized to meet the specific needs of today's students, this fully updated Student Edition shows you how to take a design idea through the entire planning and documentation process. This potent resource stays with you through your academic experience and into your first years as a professional with thousands of useful illustrations and hundreds of architectural elements conveniently placed at your fingertips. Presented in a format closely resembling an architect's actual workflow, this Twelfth Edition student handbook features: Completely new material on resiliency in buildings A versatile treatment written for the design studio setting and aligned with the most current curricular trends, including new and updated coverage on topics related to sustainability, digital fabrication, and building information modeling (BIM) A proven pedagogy that saves students time and ensures young professionals avoid the most common pitfalls Develop a state-of-the-art mastery of design best practices with Architectural Graphic Standards, Twelfth Edition, Student Edition.
Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2017
Architecture, form, space & order by
Architecture -- Composition, proportion, etc
Space (Architecture)
Call Number: Central Library; Art Books ; NA2760 .C46Publication Date: 1979
Design Drawing by
Hand drawing is an integral part of the design process and central to the architecture profession. An architect's precise interpretation and freedom of expression are captured through hand drawing, and it is perhaps the most fundamental skill that the designer must develop in order to communicate thoughts and ideas effectively. In his distinctive style, world-renowned author Francis D. K. Ching presents Design Drawing, Third Edition, the classic guide to hand drawing that clearly demonstrates how to use drawing as a practical tool for formulating and working through design problems. While digital tools continue to evolve, this Third Edition includes new illustrations and information on the latest digital-drawing techniques. Design Drawing, Third Edition covers the basics of drawing, including line, shape, tone, and space. Guiding the reader step-by-step through the entire drawing process, this Third Edition also examines different types of drawing techniques such as multiview, paraline, and perspective drawings--and reveals how the application of these techniques creates remarkable results. In addition, Design Drawing, Third Edition: Features over 1,500 hand drawings--stunning illustrations in the author's signature style that reinforce the concepts and lessons of each chapter Offers new exercises and illustrative examples that range in complexity Presents all-new digital drawing topics, such as hybrid floor plans, digital models and fabrication, and hand-to-digital fluency Includes access to a new website featuring videos of the author demonstrating freehand techniques in a step-by-step manner in the studio and on location Includes access to a brand new website (Francis Ching (wiley.com)) featuring videos of the author demonstrating freehand techniques in a step-by-step manner in studio and on location. Readers will gain a greater appreciation of the techniques presented in the book through the power of animation, video, and 3D models Written and illustrated for professional architects, designers, fine artists, illustrators, instructors and students, Design Drawing, Third Edition is an all-in-one package and effective tool that clearly demonstrates drawing concepts and techniques in a visually stimulating format that outshines other works in the field.
Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2018
Drawing by
Drawing The Motive Force of Architecture Focusing on the creative and inventive significance of drawing for architecture, this book by one of its greatest proponents, Peter Cook, is an established classic. It exudes Cook's delight and his wide-ranging, catholic tastes for the architectural. Readers are provided with perceptive insights at every turn. The book features some of the greatest and most intriguing drawings by architects, ranging from Frank Lloyd Wright, William Heath Robinson, Le Corbusier and Otto Wagner to Frank Gehry, Zaha Hadid, Coop Himmelb(l)au, Arata Isozaki, Eric Owen Moss, Bernard Tschumi and Lebbeus Woods; as well as key works by Cook and other members of the original Archigram group. For this new edition, Cook provides a substantial new chapter that charts the speed at which the trajectory of drawing is moving. It reflects the increasing sophistication of available software and also the ways in which 'hand drawing' and the 'digital' are being eclipsed by new hybrids - injecting drawing with a fresh momentum. These 'crossovers' provide a whole new territory as attempts are made to release drawing from the boundaries of a solitary moment, a single-viewing position or a single referential language. Featuring the likes of Toyo Ito, Perry Kulper, Izaskun Chinchilla, Kenny Kinugasa-Tsui, Ali Rahim, John Berglund and Lorène Faure, it leads to fascinating insights into the effect that medium has upon intention and definition of an idea or a place. Is a pencil drawing more attuned to a certain architecture than an ink drawing, or is a particular colour evocative of a certain atmosphere? In a world where a Maya® drawing is creatively contributing something different from a Rhinoceros® drawing, there is much to demand of future techniques.
Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2014
Envisioning Architecture by
The first in a series of three titles that will showcase selected works from The Museum of Modern Art's superlative holdings in the fields of architecture and design, this hand-some volume features a wide range of drawings by great architects of the modern age, including Frank Lloyd Wright, Alvar Aalto, Le Corbusier, and Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, as well as contemporary practitioners Rem Koolhaas, Frank O. Gehry, and Zaha Hadid. Their drawings and watercolors combine exacting detail with astonishing beauty. The full-page illustrations, expertly reproduced in color or black-and-white according to the original drawing, reveal not only the range of aesthetic viewpoints but also the development of architecture over the last century.
Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2002
WWW. Drawing by
What is the role of hand drawing play for architecture in a digital age, as drawing moves off the page and onto the screen? How might computer-generated drawings emulate the ambiguities and nuances of the hand? WWW Drawing: Architectural Drawing from Pencil to Pixel documents the eponymous project conducted by Pennsylvania State University's Department of Architecture, which explored these questions through a giant-scale hand-drawing workshop and a symposium held at the Drawing Center, New York. WWW refers in this context both to the World Wide Web, and to the "Three Ws"--architects Michael Webb, Mark West and James Wines, each renowned for their skills in hand drawing, who discuss their individual approaches and techniques. Complementing the Ws' perspectives, artists and architects of a younger generation -- Daniel Cardoso Llach, Andrew Heumann, Jürg Lehni, Jane Nisselson, Seher Shah and Ann Tarantino--address various aspects of contemporary architectural drawing, both analog and digital: the legacies of contrasting ideologies of early computer-aided design; technology as expressive vocabulary; and drawing as live performance, whether executed by hand or by robotic drawing machine. Together, the research and creative explorations presented in WWW Drawing cast architectural drawing in a fresh light. Published by Actar Publishers, Pennsylvania State University and Stuckeman School of Architecture
Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2021
