In Part 1 of your library assignment, you will be asked to reflect on your information searching experience before taking this class and discuss your topic selection. Your reflection should be 250-500 words.
Context: You are looking for information (scholarly, popular, books, book chapters, journal articles, etc.) for writing a term paper.
Your reflection should include the following components:
1. What sources do you usually turn to (e.g. search engine, library collections, specialized databases, or people)? Do you usually get what you want immediately?
2. When you perform “online” searching, such as search engine, digital libraries, or specialized databases, what methods do you usually use—browsing, keyword searching, or both? Do you use any “tricks” to get better results?
3. At what point do you usually stop searching?
4. How satisfied are you with your results? What does “good results” mean you?
5. Have you encountered any frustrations during the search process? What do you think the reasons have been? What methods have you used to solve the problems? How effective have your methods been?
Topic Selection:
Do you have a topic idea?
Use encyclopedias or dictionaries to gather more information on a topic if you are stuck! Or, use streaming services to listen to performances.
Includes: Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Oxford Companion to Music. These may be searched together or individually. Grove Music Online contains the following important music reference sources: The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz.
Streaming audio service of the complete recording catalogs of the Naxos label and numerous other labels. The main genres covered are classical, world, folk, jazz, and Chinese music.
Classical music channel offering broadcasts of concerts, operas, ballets, documentaries, and master classes.
