Skip to Main Content
  2. Research Guides

MUSL 2200W: Music in Western Culture - Cyrus: Part 2: Locating Sources

Part 2 Instructions:

This exercise will guide you through various research tools and ask you to evaluate results and locate various types of sources related to your final research paper topic. Follow directions and complete all five activities below in a short essay format. You will use your keywords and research topic/composer stated in Part 1. 

**I am interested in your process as well as brief explanations of results and evaluation methods. You will be asked to provide a link to selected sources that could then be used for Part 3.**

 

2A. Gathering Background Information: Reference resources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, research or information guides, bibliographies, web sources (e.g. wiki) aren't usually sources you would cite in your research paper. However, they can be useful starter places to gather background information about the composer or piece being studied. They can also lead you to other sources that may be helpful.

Evaluate 2 reference sources by searching for the composer, title of work, or potential methodologies. One source must be Oxford Music Online and another reference source of your choosing. 

For the source of your choosing, consider using a web source (e.g. wiki) or the library catalog (e.g. bibliography, research guide on a composer, e-book, encyclopedia entry). 

  • State the two sources with their entry titles, keywords used for your search, and provide in text link to the entry  (e.g. "I used Oxford Music Online's entry for composer Clara Schumann and the Wikipedia entry.) 
  • Describe the content and include strengths and weaknesses of the source 
  • Was the reference source useful and/or adequate for your research purposes? Do you need to consider other options/sources?
  • Did this lead you to any additional sources, authors, information about your piece, or other ideas/source types/keywords related to your topic that you will consider pursuing? What questions did you have? 

2B. Searching the Library Catalog: the library catalog is not a comprehensive "one-stop shop" but it does serve as a discovery tool for scores, books (electronic and physical), a/v materials (some including liner notes), and pulls from subscription databases often showing search results like newspaper entries and scholarly journal articles. 

Search the Library Catalog using various keywords and answer in a short paragraph format.

  • Describe your search and process
    • Include variations to keywords and phrases used based on content and/or methodology
    • How many results and what types or sources? (remember to expand your search to everything when searching beyond the library catalog)
    • Did you broaden or narrow the search? Did you use filters? How many variations of keyword searches did you do?
  • Do you notice any similarities between types of sources in terms of authorship or other important details?
  • Provide a permalink to at least two sources you would consider consulting for your research paper.
    • Why did you choose the source?
    • How did you determine these would be good sources? (Evaluate) 
  • Provide a permalink to a score related to your piece. Would you use a score for your paper, why/why not?

2C. Music Periodicals Database: Search this database much like you did the library catalog and locate and access two relevant articles for your paper.

  • Describe your search and process (see 2B for response suggestions)
  • How did your search and process change using this database versus the library catalog?
  • Was searching the Music Periodicals Database useful for your topic? Why/Why not? 
    • If no, what are some creative solutions for searching or what other databases may be useful?
  • Provide a permalink to two articles that you would consider consulting for your paper.
    • Why did you choose these sources?
    • How did you determine this would be a good sources? (Evaluate)

2D. Liner Notes: liner notes can be great information sources and can be found in physical CDs or A/V materials that the library holds in the catalog or in the Naxos Music Library Database. Use Naxos Music Library to review liner notes related to the work you will discuss in the 

  • Provide the permalink to a recording that provided liner notes. 
  • Evaluate the liner notes. 
  • Would you use this source for your paper?

2E. Choose your own journey: select an open web search, Google Scholar, or another journal database like JSTOR to locate one source or related to your topic 

  • What research tool did you choose and why?
  • What keywords did you use?
  • Describe your results...
  • Provide a link or permalink/link to one source you would consider consulting for your paper.
    • Why did you choose the source?
    • How did you determine these would be good sources? (Evaluate) 

 

Quick Links to Databases:

This list is meant for quick access to a selected list of databases. This is not comprehensive. Visit the music library website for access to other databases.