Where Do I Start?
Connect to Library Resources Wherever You Are!
- Access databases, journals and e-books online using your VUnet ID & password
- Work directly with a librarian!
- Email Ryan with a question
- Schedule an in-person or virtual meeting with Ryan for in-depth research help
- Need a quick and dirty answer? Connect to us via chat from any library webpage!
- Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new windowProfiles of past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights discussing their lives and careers and critical response to their works. Includes the Documentary Series, Main Series, and Yearbook.
- OED: Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new windowThe accepted authority on the English language. Guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of English words traced through quotations.
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowLiterary guide to significant sources on a variety of subjects. Works as an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
- Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new windowLong-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. Both foundational and cutting-edge topics are covered in order to develop, over time, an anchoring knowledge base for major areas of research.
Access to selected content only. Some articles may not be available. - Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Reference sources published by Oxford University Press. Dictionaries, subject reference works, language reference sources and key titles in the Oxford Companion series. Some examples are: the Oxford-Duden German dictionaries, A Dictionary of Psychology, A Dictionary of Zoology, The Oxford Dictionary of Idioms, A Dictionary of Writers and Their Works, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Oxford Companion to U.S.History, Oxford Companion to Music, Oxford Companion to Philosophy, and The Encyclopedia of Popular Music, etc.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Folktales and Fairy Tales by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780313334412Publication Date: 2007-12-30Folk and fairy tales exist in all cultures and are at the heart of civilization. This massive Encyclopedia gives students and general readers a broad, multicultural survey of folk and fairy tales from around the world. Included are hundreds of alphabetically arranged entries written by numerous expert contributors. Entries cover themes and motifs, individuals, characters and character types, national traditions, genres, and a range of other topics. Each entry cites works for further reading, and the Encyclopedia closes with a bibliography of print and electronic resources. Literature students will welcome this book as an aid to understanding and analyzing folk and fairy tales as literary forms, while social studies students will appreciate it as an exploration of the essence of world cultures. Folk and fairy tales exist in all cultures and are at the heart of civilization. The most comprehensive work of its kind, this massive Encyclopedia gives students and general readers a broad, accessible, multicultural survey of folk and fairy tales from around the world.
Encyclopedia of Occultism and Parapsychology by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780787677787Publication Date: 2003-11-01
Lycaon Transformed into a Wolf, engraving by Hendrik Goltzius, from les Métamorphoses d'Ovide, livre I (Holland, 1589)
Hendrik Goltzius, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons
Film poster for the film I Was a Teenage Werewolf (1957)
Reynold Brown, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons
Lobby card for Universal Studios' The Wolf Man featuring Lon Chaney Jr as the title character, 1948
Universal Studios, re-released by Realart in 1948, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons
The Werewolf or the Cannibal, woodcut print, by Lucas Cranach the Elder (MET, 42.45.1)
Lucas Cranach the Elder, CC0, via Wikimedia Commons
Portrait of Aphra Behn, by Sir Peter Lely, oil on canvas, ca. 1670
Peter Lely, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons
Title page of De la lycanthropie, transformation et extase des sorciers by Jean de Nynauld, 1615
Jean de Nynauld, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons
