Conquering Call Numbers!
I've got a call #, now what?
Click the link below for more information.
Finding Books, Articles & More...
Vanderbilt University Library Catalog
Selecting the best search scope for your research needs:
Library Catalog vs. VU Collections vs. Articles
| Search Scope | What is included? | When should I use it? |
| Library Catalog |
|
|
| VU Collections |
|
|
| Articles |
|
|
For a more detailed explanation of your search scope options consult What am I searching?
Keyword vs. Subject Searching
|
Step 1: Start your search process by brainstorming a list of keywords that describe the main concepts of your topic or question. |
|
Step 2: Use these keywords for your initial searches. Step 3: Use the Subject Heading links in the Library Catalog record to refine your search. |
Literature & Film Databases
-
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Subject indexing of journals, books, proceedings, and dissertations in the areas of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, and the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
-
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature, 1920- (ABELL) This link opens in a new windowBibliographical listing of monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations about English language, literature, and culture published anywhere in the world. Literature: poetry, prose, fiction, films, biography, travel writing, literary theory, and studies of individual writers. English culture: custom, belief, narrative, song, dance, and material culture.
-
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new windowBibliographical index covering academic and popular film journals. Includes: "International Index to Film Periodicals," "Treasures from Film Archives," and "Documentation Collections."
Anthropology & Medieval Studies Databases
-
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowIndex to journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Includes materials published in English and European languages from the late 19th century to the present. Compilation of the Royal Anthropological Institute’s Anthropological Index and Harvard University's Anthropological Literature databases.
-
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new windowBooks, articles, and dissertations covering all aspects of cultural and social life: religious beliefs, bringing up children, causes and cures of diseases, economic and political behavior. Cultures range from ethnic groups in Africa, Asia, and Oceania, to indigenous and immigrant groups in North and South America.
-
International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary bibliography of the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa. Periodicals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften, and exhibition catalogues).
-
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of articles, essays, books and reviews. Also: a directory of scholars, an online edition of Paul Oskar Kristeller's Iter Italicum, access to the journal Renaissance Quarterly, and the Baptisteria Sacra.
General Databases
-
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Search all ProQuest databases simultaneously. Includes arts, humanities, social sciences, news, and science and technology.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowLarge and important archive for academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals do not have current issues.
-
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Digital humanities and social science scholarly journals from university presses and scholarly societies.
Folklore Research Guides
Please note that the guides listed below include resources that are restricted to users at their institutions. Please consult the library search for availability of these items at Vanderbilt.
-
Library Research Guide for Folklore and Mythology - Harvard LibrarySee in particular the section on Tale-Type and Motif Indices. Provides a good introduction to the AARNE-THOMPSON-UTHER (ATU) Index and the Motif-Index of Folk Literature.
-
Folktale and Folk Motif Indexes - University of Missouri LibrariesA detailed guide highlighting many folklore resources.
Print Resources Available at Vanderbilt
-
The types of international folktales : a classification and bibliography, based on the system of Antti Aarne and Stith Thompson
by
Call Number: Central Library Stacks: GR1 .F55Publication Date: 2004 -
Motif-index of folk-literature; a classification of narrative elements in folktales, ballads, myths, fables, mediaeval romances, exempla, fabliaux, jest-books, and local legends.
by
Call Number: Central Library Stacks: GR67 .T52Publication Date: 1955-1958Volumes 1-6
-
Archetypes and Motifs in Folklore and Literature: a Handbook
by
Call Number: Central Library Stacks: GR72.56 .A73 2005ISBN: 0765612607Publication Date: 2004-12-31This is an authoritative presentation and discussion of the most basic thematic elements universally found in folklore and literature. The reference provides a detailed analysis of the most common archetypes or motifs found in the folklore of selected communities around the world. Each entry is written by a noted authority in the field, and includes accompanying reference citations. Entries are keyed to the Motif-Index of Folk Literature by Stith Thompson and grouped according to that Index's scheme. The reference also includes an introductory essay on the concepts of archetypes and motifs and the scholarship associated with them. This is the only book in English on motifs and themes that is completely folklore oriented, deals with motif numbers, and is tied to the Thompson Motif-Index. It includes in-depth examination of such motifs as: Bewitching; Chance and Fate; Choice of Roads; Death or Departure of the Gods; the Double; Ghosts and Other Revenants; the Hero Cycle; Journey to the Otherworld; Magic Invulnerability; Soothsayer; Transformation; Tricksters. -
Type and Motif-Index of the Folktales of England and North America
by
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 3111039358Publication Date: 1966-01-01 -
Tale Type and Motif Indexes
by
Call Number: Annex (Remote Storage): Z5983 .L5 A98 1987ISBN: 0824087887Publication Date: 1987-01-01You must submit an Annex Request for access to this book.
-
African Folktales with Foreign Analogues
by
Call Number: Annex (Remote Storage): GR350 .K57 1992ISBN: 0824071476Publication Date: 1992-03-01You must submit an Annex Request for access to this book.
-
EEBO - Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
Digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in English from 1473-1700.
-
Witchcraft Collection This link opens in a new windowTitles documenting the history of the Inquisition and the persecution of witchcraft. Manifestations of the belief in witchcraft, its geographical boundaries, works on canon law, the Inquisition, torture, demonology, trial testimony, and narratives. Focuses on witchcraft not as folklore or anthropology, but as theology and as religious heresy.
