Finding Books & Articles
Vanderbilt University Library Search
Selecting the best search scope for your research needs:
Everything vs. Library Catalog vs. Articles
| Search Scope | What is included? | When should I use it? |
| Everything |
|
|
| Library Catalog |
|
|
| Articles |
|
|
For a more detailed explanation of your search scope options consult What am I searching?
Keyword vs. Subject Searching
|
Step 1: Start your search process by brainstorming a list of keywords that describe the main concepts of your topic or question. |
|
Step 2: Use these keywords for your initial searches. Step 3: Use the Subject Heading links in the Library Catalog record to refine your search. A subject heading is a specific word or phrase used to find and organize books and articles by topic. |
- ATLA (American Theological Library Association) Religion Database with ATLA Serials PLUS This link opens in a new windowIndex to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Some full text.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowSubject indexing of journals, books, proceedings, and dissertations in the areas of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, and the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Search all ProQuest databases simultaneously. Includes arts, humanities, social sciences, news, and science and technology.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowLarge and important archive for academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals do not have current issues.
The William Blake Archive
- The William Blake ArchiveA free site on the World Wide Web since 1996, the Blake Archive was conceived as an international public resource that would provide unified access to major works of visual and literary art that are highly disparate, widely dispersed, and more and more often severely restricted as a result of their value, rarity, and extreme fragility. A growing number of contributors have given the Archive permission to include thousands of Blake's images and texts without fees.
Recommended Blake Biographies
Blake by Call Number: Central Library Stacks: PR4146 .A55 1995ISBN: 9780679409670Publication Date: 1996-03-26
The Stranger from Paradise by Call Number: Central Library Stacks: PR4146 .B377 2001ISBN: 0300089392Publication Date: 2001-06-10
The Habit of Being by Call Number: Central Library Stacks: PS3565 .C57 Z48 1978ISBN: 9780374167691Publication Date: 1979-02-01
The Letters of Flannery o'Connor and Caroline Gordon by Call Number: Central Library Stacks: PS3565 .C57 Z484 2018ISBN: 9780820354088Publication Date: 2018-10-01
The Correspondence of Flannery O'Connor and the Brainard Cheneys by Call Number: Central Library Stacks: PS3565 .C57 Z483 1986ISBN: 0878052925Publication Date: 1986-06-01
Bible Texts
- King James Bible (1611) This link opens in a new windowText of the King James Bible, 1611 edition, including all introductory matter, annotation, calendars, genealogies and tables.
Early Christian and Jewish Writings
- Early Christian WritingsA thorough collection of early Christian writing and documents from the first two centuries. Includes translations and commentary on Apocrypha, Gnostics, Church Fathers, and the New Testament.
- Early Jewish WritingsExcellent resource of early Jewish documents and writings with translations and commentary. Includes Tanakh and Talmud, Pseudepigrapha, Philo of Alexander, and Josephus.
