Vanderbilt TV News Archive
The Vanderbilt Television News Archive is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. The archive has been recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968.
"The mission of the Vanderbilt Television News Archive focuses on creating, preserving and providing access to the news broadcasts from the U.S. national television networks. We create recordings of news broadcasts from the U.S. national television networks, preserve the content for future generations, and provide the widest access possible within the copyright limitations."
The core of the collection consists of regularly scheduled newscasts from ABC, CBS, NBC, CNN and Fox News. Also included is selected news content from other networks.
Due to copyright considerations, the archive provides access to the streaming video only to a limited audience and only to limited parts of the collection. Video from all networks can be viewed from computers located in the Central and Divinity libraries. Archive content available in streaming video is marked with this icon: 
Newspapers
- ProQuest News and Newspapers This link opens in a new windowDirect link to the newspaper section of ProQuest. Includes Alt-Press Watch, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Latin American Newsstand, Canadian Newsstand Complete, ProQuest Newsstand, ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Times of London, and The Tennessean.
Government Documents and Other Selected Primary Sources
- Declassified Documents Reference System (DDRS) (now called U.S. Declassified Documents Online) This link opens in a new windowDeclassified government documents covering major domestic and international events since the end of World War II. Cabinet meeting minutes, correspondence, diary entries, intelligence reports, political analyses and technical studies from the White House, State Department, National Security Agency, FBI, and CIA.
- FBI VaultRich source of formerly classified material from thew Federal Bureau of Investigation, including files on activists such as Malcolm X and Martin Luther King Jr.
- Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS), 1861-1980 (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new windowOfficial documentary historical record of major US foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication.
- Proquest Congressional Publications This link opens in a new windowU.S. Congressional materials (hearings, bills, Congressional Record and compiled legislative histories) and Executive Branch documents.
