Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ROCCA Lab: Finding Policy Articles

Get Full-Text Articles

What is Find it at VU button ?

FindIt@VU provides direct links from a database citation to the full-text version of the article (if available) and other supporting resources.

You'll also see FindIt@VU buttons in Library Catalog.

An FAQ for FindIt@VU is also available.

Searching ProQuest

 

Start with a general periodical database like ProQuest that provides instant access to multidisciplinary popular and scholarly articles on many topics.

ProQuest provides citations and summaries of articles from over 4,000 publications, with many in full-text. Indexes a broad range of social sciences publications, general-interest magazines such as Time and Newsweek, scholarly publications, and recent issues of major newspapers.

Quick Steps for Using ProQuest

  • To limit your search to social science articles and materials,click on the ProQuest Social Sciences collection.
  • To search all 34 of the social science databases that ProQuest offers and to limit your search to scholarly articles, check the "Scholarly journals" box.
  • Enter your search terms and click on the magnifying glass icon to execute the search.
  • Review the results.
  • Too many results? Consider narrowing your topic.
  • Too few results? Look at the list of results.  From the titles of the articles listed, you may see other words or terms that will focus your topic better.

If you already have a citation including the periodical title and the date, you can look for individual issues of magazines and journals: Go to the Vanderbilt Library home page and click on "Search Library." Then click on "E-journals" and type in the journal name.