Sandra M. Bennett Papers | Vanderbilt University Archives - Women's History Month: Women In Business

Sandra M. Bennett

Sandra M. Bennett was born and raised in Detroit, MI to a working-class family. After high school, Bennett “did what society and the times dictated” and became a secretary, got married, and had a child (Bennett, 2007). Later divorced, Bennett relocated to Atlanta, Georgia, where she worked at Siemens. After her position was eliminated, she moved to Nashville, Tennessee. While in Nashville, Bennett joined Greater Nashville Business and Professional Women (GNBPW).

During Bennett’s tenure at GNBPW, she served as President for two terms, during which she spearheaded a grassroots effort to support the passage of the Tennessee Equal Pay Remedies and Enforcement Act. After her efforts with GNBPW, she served as Vice President of Legislation for the Nashville Women’s Political Caucus and later served two terms as President of the Nashville Women’s Political Caucus. Governor Phil Bredesen appointed Bennett to the Tennessee Economic Council on Women. She served for six years on the council, during which she was Secretary. In 2008, Bennett retired and moved to Manchester, Tennessee.

Below, you will find a selection of Ms. Bennett’s papers held in Vanderbilt’s Special Collections and Archives. This selection highlights some of Ms. Bennett’s work, especially the campaign for the Tennessee Equal Pay Remedies and Enforcement Act.

References

Bennett, S.M. (2007). Text of Athena Speech. Sandra McMullin Bennett Papers. (Box 9). Vanderbilt University Special Collections and Archives, Nashville, TN, United States.

Sandra Bennett Papers at Vanderbilt Special Collections and Archives
This links to the catalog record of the Sandra Bennett papers in the Vanderbilt University Special Collections and Archives. You can request items in the collection to view in the Special Collections reading room.

Select Items from the Sandra Bennett Papers

GNBPW's Legislative Summary (1 of 3)

These pages detail the legislative action of the GNBPW, including the campaign to get candidates for state offices to pledge support for the Tennessee Equal Pay Remedies and Enforcement Act.

GNBPW's Legislative Summary (2 of 3)

These pages detail the legislative action of the GNBPW, including the campaign to get candidates for state offices to pledge support for the Tennessee Equal Pay Remedies and Enforcement Act.

GNBPW's Legislative Summary (3 of 3)

These pages detail the legislative action of the GNBPW, including the campaign to get candidates for state offices to pledge support for the Tennessee Equal Pay Remedies and Enforcement Act.

Clippings from Tennessean

Newspaper article clippings that describe the work of GNPBW and the pay equity issue for women. The article on the bottom depicts a lecture delivered to the GNPBW from Ronnie Steinberg (now a Vanderbilt emeritus faculty member); at the time Steinberg was the Director of the Women's Social Policy and Research Center at Vanderbilt.

Ronnie Steinberg Lecture to GNBPW

Photographs of Ronnie Steinberg delivering a lecture on pay equity to the GNBPW in April 2003.

Equal Pay Day 2003

A call for recognition of Equal Pay Day on April 15, 2003, by the Nashville Mayor's Office. According to the National Committee on Pay Equity, Equal Pay Day varies from year to year and symbolizes how far into the year women must work to earn what men earned in the previous year.

Nashville Women's Political Caucus Luncheon

Invitation to the January 2004 luncheon of the Nashville Women's Political Caucus, which featured special guest, Tennessee First Lady, Andrea Conte. Photographs of Sandra Bennett and Andrea Conte at the luncheon.