Dr. Ronnie Steinberg, Former Professor of Sociology and Director of the Women's Studies Program at Vanderbilt
Collection Spotlight
Ronnie Steinberg Papers, held at the Vanderbilt Special Collections and University Archives.
Scope and Contents
This collection contains the papers of Dr. Ronnie Steinberg, former professor of Sociology and Director of the Women's Studies Program at Vanderbilt. Her research touches on pay equity, eldercare, and other topics. She was also involved in the Women's Social Policy and Research Center (W. SPARC) at Vanderbilt University. The Women’s Social Policy and Research Center was established in January 2001 to involve women faculty and students in the examination of how state and federal public policy initiatives affect women’s economic independence and social status.
References
Ronnie Steinberg Papers, Box #1, 2, 7, and 8, Special Collections Library, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN.
- Ronnie Steinberg Papers at Vanderbilt Special Collections and University ArchivesThis links to the catalog record of the Ronnie Steinberg papers in the Vanderbilt Special Collections and University Archives. You request items in the collection to view in the Special Collections reading room.
Select Items from the Ronnie Steinberg Papers
Steinberg Wins
A photograph of the cover page for the April 2001 edition of the local magazine Nashville Woman, featuring Steinberg's win of the ATHENA award. The ATHENA Award was originally created by the Nashville Chapter of the National Association of Women Business Owners (NAWBO).
Living Wage Handout
This handout was co-created by Steinberg, describing the minimum wage needed to live in Nashville circa 2000. Steinberg frequently researched, wrote about, and lobbied for economic policies targeted at uplifting women and their families as the chair (1999-2001) of the Tennessee Economic Council on Women.
Women's Social Policy and Research Center Report
This photo shows the cover of a copy of a Vanderbilt Women's Social Policy and Research Center report about women in leadership co-authored by Steinberg. The title of the report is Missing Persons: Women in Corporate Director and Executive Positions in Tennessee
