Exploring Coverage of Women in Business in Vanderbilt's TV News Archive
The Vanderbilt Television News Archive has been recording and preserving national evening news broadcasts since August 5, 1968. Vanderbilt students, faculty, and staff can stream the entire collection on the archive's website using this access link: https://tvnews-vanderbilt-edu.proxy.library.vanderbilt.edu
For more information about searching the collection, please visit the archive's research guide: vu.edu/tvnews or contact the archive via email at tvnews@vanderbilt.edu. The archive staff is happy to support your research project, please do not hesitate to reach out!
In celebration of Women's History Month, the TV News Archive has partnered with the Walker Management Library to curate a list of relevant content. Checkout the playlist below!
Curated Playlist
| Thumbnail Preview | Original Air Date | Clip Title (Network) | Summary |
|---|---|---|---|
 |
Oct 16, 1975 |
First Women's Bank (NBC) | Bank founded and organized in `73, but recession and investors' lack of confidence in women bankers delayed opening. Most of new customers are women; women's rights leader Betty Freidan there. |
 |
Nov 21, 1977 | Women's Conference / After effects (CBS) | Report on the annual National Women's Conference and its efforts to raise political awareness of issues affecting women, as well as a push for more women to enter the political arena. |
 |
May 18, 1979 | Women In Business (CBS) | President Carter orders his administration to take more positive actions towards women in business, such as providing federal contracts and small business loans to women-owned businesses. |
 |
Feb 16, 1984 | Women in Business (CBS) | Rate of women entering private business ownership sector outlined on screen, discussed. |
 |
Oct 26, 1984 | Fashion / Sneakers (CBS) | Popularity of sneakers among American business women featured. |
 |
Mar 21, 1988 | Fashion / Hemlines (CBS) | American women reported refusing to buy skirts considered too short. Women's clothing sales reported down due to surplus of short skirts and debate over women looking professional at the office. |
 |
Oct 08, 1995 | Russia / Westernization / Cosmetics | The fast growth of Mary Kay Cosmetics in Russia featured; details given of the financial incentives for Russian women learning to become businesswomen in the cosmetics industry. |
 |
Aug 09, 1999 | Women In Business (CEO Camp) Part I (NBC) | Corporate women teaching strategies for business success at "CEO camp" featured. |
 |
Oct 11, 2005 | Martha Stewart’s New Life / It’s A Martha Thing (CNN) | Following her release from prison, a report on Martha Stewart's new book and her public perception. |
 |
Jun 17, 2008 | The New Entrepreneurs / Black Women (CBS) | The story of one new African American female entrepreneur, Dawn Fitch, who has launched her own business, presented; details given about her business in handmade natural bath and body products. |
 |
Mar 11, 2013 | Women in Business / Sandberg (CNN) | The backlash against Facebook COO Sheryl Sandberg's new book "Lean In" about women in business. |
 |
Sep 13, 2015 | United States / Larry Summers / Taylor Swift / Elon Coleman (CNN) | Report on Fortune's list of the most powerful women in business in the United States. |
 |
Tuesday, Apr 25, 2017 | Berlin / Ivanka Trump / Joseph Brammel / Donald Trump (CBS) | Report on first daughter Ivanka Trump trip to Germany for a meeting of women and business and government. |
