Reference Materials
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Human Rights by Call Number: Available electronically, or in print Upper Level JC571 .E673 2009ISBN: 9780195334029Publication Date: 2009-08-11Major five-volume encyclopedia offers comprehensive coverage of all aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history. The set will provide situation profiles and full coverage of the development of the movement, historical cases of abuse, the key figures, major organizations, and a range of other issues in economics, government, religion, and journalism that touch on human rights theory and practice.
The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law by
Written by over 800 of the world's leading authorities and edited at the premier research institution for international law, this new edition of the definitive reference work on international law contains over 1,619 articles covering the full breadth of the subject. Articles address the history and theory of international law; all sub-fields such as international criminal law, environmental law, and economic law; leading cases; and significant treaties, organizations, armed conflicts, and geographical issues. Each article contains cross-references to related articles, and includes a carefully selected bibliography of the most important writings and primary materials as a guide to further reading. The Encyclopedia can be used by a wide range of readers. Experienced scholars and practitioners will find a wealth of information on areas that they do not already know well as well as in-depth treatments on every aspect of their specialist topics. At the same time articles can be set as readings for students on taught courses. Every article has been thoroughly peer reviewed and all references have been checked over by the editorial staff giving readers total confidence in the quality and accuracy of the content. The Encyclopedia will be a primary resource for all students and scholars of international law; counsel, judges and arbitrators involved in international law cases; and government legal advisers. Also Available For Purchase An accompanying Index volume for The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law is now available separately for purchase. The Index completes the definitive reference work on international law by providing comprehensive lists of all articles and authors contained within the ten volumes. The Index also includes: full citations for every document referenced in each article; full tables of cases and legislation; and a detailed, analytical, A-Z index for the ten volumes.
Call Number: KZ1160 .M39 2012 (see link below for electronic version)ISBN: 0199291683Publication Date: 2012-04-07
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database on articles on every aspect of public international law. Primary documents, such as treaties, are also available for some entries.
International Encyclopedia of Human Rights by
The global importance of human rights issues has sparked an ongoing need to develop a universal language for human rights and the procedures for remedying violations, where remedies are, in fact, available. Giving the broadest scope to the terms human rights and freedoms, this reference encompasses constitutional rights and freedoms as well as those addressed in international and regional agreements.''''Through entries that define and describe concepts and terms, to text excerpts of documents, charts depicting global comparisons, essays on organizations, and biographies of activists and theorists, this reference will serve the research and information needs of students, scholars, activists, and interested citizens.''''As the title suggests, International Encyclopedia of Human Rights: Freedoms, Abuses, and Remedies goes beyond the abstract to include practical information on remedies for violations of a person's rights and freedoms by a national government, and on the private and government rights organizations that assist in reporting on or enforcing human rights.''''All around the world, there is a growing interest in developing a universal language for human rights and the procedures for remedying violations. International Encyclopedia of Human Rights: Freedoms, Abuses, and Remedies is written for both students of the subject and those who are actively working in the field. This reference work points readers in the right direction for enforcing their rights rather than merely setting them forth in the abstract.''
Call Number: JC571 .M3243 2000 (Central Library)ISBN: 1568024908Publication Date: 2000-05-01
Dictionaries
A Dictionary of Human Rights by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 1136958797Publication Date: 2013This reference work reflects the growing international concern over human rights. It provides explanations of the terminology, issues, organizations and laws surrounding this emotive subject. A Dictionary of Human Rights features: * over 200 clear and concise mini-essays * alphabetical arrangement for ease of use This book is a vital source for anyone interested in or connected with human rights issues.
Historical Dictionary of Human Rights and Humanitarian Organizations by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781442276178Publication Date: 2016-12-19The Historical Dictionary of Human Rights and Humanitarian Organizations, defines the core concepts of human rights and humanitarian law. It relates the major international legal agreements related to human rights and names the diverse intergovernmental organizations which are responsible for implementing and maintaining these legal declarations, charters, conventions, or treaties. It also names and describes the several international non-governmental organizations which lobby states and international organizations with respect to human rights, which carry out programs of humanitarian assistance or relief, and which have played such a significant role in the evolution of human rights and humanitarianism in the modern era. The dictionary section has over 700 cross-referenced entries on human rights concepts, major pieces of international law on human rights and humanitarian issues, major intergovernmental bodies responsible for implementing international laws on human rights and humanitarian issues, major international non-governmental organizations whose work focuses on human rights and humanitarian issues, and the names of important historical and contemporary figures who have contributed to the establishment and progress of human rights and humanitarianism..
Historical Dictionary of Human Rights by
If the sheer number of references to human rights in media headlines or government statements is of any guidance, human rights concerns now appear virtually at the center of the framework of the norms, principles, and obligations that shape relations within the international community both among and within states. That political journey began, perhaps arbitrarily, on 10 December, 1948, when the United Nations General Assembly (UN-GA) embraced and proclaimed the Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR), a ringing endorsement and advocacy of the notion that regardless of race, religion or nationality, all men and women, everywhere in the world are entitled to the human rights and fundamental freedoms simply because they are human. The Historical Dictionary of Human Rights covers the history of the Human Rights movement through a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has more than 1000 cross-referenced entries on terminology, conventions, treaties, intergovernmental organizations in the United Nations family or regional bodies, and the constantly expanding universe of non-governmental organizations, as well as some of the pioneers and defenders. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about the Human Rights movement.
Call Number: Online resourceISBN: 0810880350Publication Date: 2014-02-18
Other Reference Material
International Human Rights in a Nutshell by Call Number: Available in West Academic, or in print: Main Level - Study Aids REF K3240 .B827 2017.ISBN: 9781634605984Publication Date: 2017-07-18World Human Rights Guide by
Call Number: Central Library JC571 .H788 1992ISBN: 0195076745Publication Date: 1992-10-22Includes questionnaires from 104 countries, which can be used similar to a checklist.
Legal Abbreviations and Citations
- International Citator and Research Guide byCall Number: Reference REF K89 .I58 2018ISBN: 9780837740898Publication Date: 2018-01-01The ICRG set, conveniently organized into global regions, is a source of foundational and comprehensive citation standards for scholars working with all types of international and foreign materials. It presents each citation standard in the context of that country or organization's history and legal institutions. It is also a general resource of basic legal background on international organizations and countries that would otherwise be difficult to research. It can be used as a companion to The Bluebook, whose coverage of international sources is necessarily limited.
Prince's Bieber Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations by Call Number: REF KF246 .B46 2009ISBN: 9780837716251Publication Date: 2009-10-01
The BluebookCall Number: REF KF245 .B58 2020ISBN: 9780578666150Publication Date: 2020-05-20A Uniform System of Citation: The Bluebook is the definitive style guide for legal citation in the United States. For generations, law students, lawyers, scholars, judges, and other legal professionals have relied on The Bluebook's uniform system of citation in their writing. In a diverse and rapidly changing legal profession, The Bluebook continues to provide a systematic method by which members of the profession communicate important information to one another about the sources and legal authorities upon which they rely in their work.
Index to legal citations and abbreviations by Call Number: REF K89 .I45 2013ISBN: 0414028511Publication Date: 2013
Guide to Foreign and International Legal Citations by
Created by the Journal of International Law and Politics at New York University, the Guide to Foreign and International Legal Citations is the most comprehensive source for international citations rules. Including 45 country citation systems, as well as citation rules for international organizations, tribunals, and treaties, the updated Second Edition offers updated and expanded coverage. The only reference that focuses entirely on international citation, Guide to Foreign and International Legal Citation, Second Edition, features: manageable length, convenient Wire-O binding, and easy-to-use page format logical three-part organization: Country Citation Guides Citation Guides for International Organizations Citation Guides for International and Regional Tribunals a Country Profile for each listing followed by its Citation Guide examples that reflect acceptable variability of citation in practice < English translations of foreign words in parentheses for ease of use citation instructions that contain both source content and formatting instructions references to useful Internet material New to the Second Edition: coverage expanded to include Singapore coverage of Sharia Law, providing an explanation of Sharia Law, sources of Sharia Law, the various schools of Sharia Law, and a list of countries that use Sharia Law Complementing the ALWD Citation Manual and the Aspen Handbook for Legal Writers as an indispensable reference tool in law school, the Guide to Foreign and International Legal Citations, Second Edition, constitutes an important contribution to legal research and writing.
Call Number: REF K89 .G85 2009ISBN: 9780735579798Publication Date: 2009-03-18
ALWD Citation Manual by
ALWD Citation Manual: A Professional System of Citation, now in its Fourth Edition, upholds a single and consistent system of citation for all forms of legal writing. Clearly and attractively presented in an easy-to-use format, edited by Darby Dickerson, a leading authority on American legal citation, the ALWD Citation Manual is simply an outstanding teaching tool. Endorsed by the Association of Legal Writing Directors, (ALWD), a nationwide society of legal writing program directors, the ALWD Citation Manual: A Professional System of Citation, features: a single, consistent, logical system of citation that can be used for any type of legal document complete coverage of the citation rules that includes: - basic citation - citation for primary and secondary sources - citation of electronic sources - how to incorporate citations into documents - how to quote material and edit quotes properly - court-specific citation formats, commonly used abbreviations, and a sample legal memorandum with proper citation in the Appendices two-color page design that flags key points and highlights examples Fast Formatsquick guides for double-checking citations and Sidebars with facts and tips for avoiding common problems diagrams and charts that illustrate citation style at a glance The Fourth Edition provides: facsimiles of research sources that a first-year law student would use, annotated with the elements in each citation and a sample citation for each flexible citation options for (1) the United States as a party to a suit and (2) using contractions in abbreviations new rules addressing citation of interdisciplinary sources (e.g., plays, concerts, operas) and new technology (e.g., Twitter, e-readers, YouTube video) updated examples throughout the text expanded list of law reviews in Appendix 5 A new Wire-O binding in the Fourth Edition offers greater durability and makes the pages open perfectly flat for ease of use. Self-stick tabs now included in the book encourage students to flag frequently referenced pages for added convenience. Indispensable by design, the ALWD Citation Manual: A Professional System of Citation, Fourth Edition, keeps on getting better
Call Number: KF245 .A45 2010ISBN: 0735589305Publication Date: 2010-04-16
- Cardiff Index to Legal AbbreviationsAvailable online only. Includes abbreviations from over 295 jurisdictions.
