Collections of Human Rights Documents on the Web
The Raoul Wallenberg Institute Compilation of Human Rights Instruments by
In 1997, The Raoul Wallenberg Institute Compilation of Human Rights Instruments was published by Martinus Nijhoff Publishers as the first volume in the series The Raoul Wallenberg Institute Human Rights Library . In 2004, the second edition of that Compilation was published, and the present publication is the third, revised edition of the book. Since the second edition of the Compilation went out of print, major human rights treaties have entered, or are about to enter, into force, and a number of non-treaty instruments have been adopted. The dynamic development in international human rights law and the increasing number of instruments have brought about a revision in the selection of instruments to be included in this new edition of the Compilation. Like in the previous editions, the selection of instruments is based on the experience acquired by staff of the Raoul Wallenberg Institute; most of the reproduced texts are the subject of frequent references in courses, seminars and workshops organized by the Institute. The chosen treaties and non-treaty instruments are either universal or regional; some of them are of a general nature while others have specific or specialized contents. They cover, among others, civil, political, economic, social, cultural and solidarity rights."
Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9789004226104Publication Date: 2012-06-01- Human Rights: A Compilation of International Instruments. byCall Number: Online ResourceISBN: 1417592419Available as an EBSCO e-book and in HeinOnline.
- University of Minnesota Human Rights LibraryCompiles links to treaties, UN documents, regional materials, research guides, and sites providing content relevant to particular topics and jurisdictions. Last updated in 2017.
- Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human RightsIncludes treaties, conference materials, summaries of the commission's work in particular jurisdictions, and commission publications available for free in PDF format.
- Project Diana - Human Rights Cases from Yale Law Library's Avalon ProjectCompilation of decisions and filings in select U.S. cases bearing on human rights. Content available in HTML format only.
- Legislationonline.orgInitiative of the Organization for Security and Cooperation in European's Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights. "[P]rovides direct access to international norms and standards relating to specific human dimension issues, as well as to domestic legislation and other documents of relevance to these issues." Includes full text access for legislation from European countries.
- HURIDOCSNGO working with various human rights groups to support them in compiling information regarding human rights law and evidence of abuses; links to a number of externally hosted databases.
Country Specific Information
- Universal Human Rights IndexResource compiling human rights-related recommendations from UN entities, maintained by the UN's OHCHR.
- U.S. State Department Country Reports on Human Rights PracticesAnnual reports organized by jurisdiction.
Collections of Human Rights Documents in Print
Brownlie's Documents on Human Rights by
Basic Documents on Human Rights provides an extensive collection of key documents covering all elements of the subject, accompanied by authoritative commentary and bibliographic annotation. The result is a clear and accurate set of the most important human rights instruments adopted by the United Nations and its agencies, by regional organisations, and other actors in the field. This text contains the essentials for a thorough study of human rights, mapping well onto both undergraduateand postgraduate courses. It provides the convenience of an indispensable 'one-stop' collection for research and reference, for practitioners and students alike, with guidance from the leading experts in the field.
Call Number: K 3238 B37 2010ISBN: 9780199564040Publication Date: 2010-08-20
