Human rights are embodied in numerous sources of law, including treaties, cases, custom, and domestic law. Fortunately, a great many secondary sources are available to researchers that can help them understand and identify relevant human rights frameworks. This guide recommends both primary and secondary materials, many available electronically, but some only in print.
In identifying print and e-books available at Vanderbilt, consider searching the library catalog using the Subject field in the Advanced Search form. You might utilize keyword searches to identify works related to particular issues, for example "freedom of expression," "detention of persons," "right to housing," etc., or if interested in developments in a particular jurisdiction, search "human rights--[jurisdiction name]," for example "human rights--Canada."
Human Rights Law Research Guides
- United Nations Documentation: Research Guide: Human RightsLinks to all major UN human rights bodies, and explains the documentation system of each.
Subscription Resources
- Oxford Scholarly Authorities on International Law (OSAIL)Online reference works and treatises on international law.
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International LawComprehensive database on articles on every aspect of public international law. Primary documents, such as treaties, are also available for some entries.
- Oxford Reports on International Law This link opens in a new window
Public international case law on international courts, domestic courts and ad hoc tribunals. All reported decisions have a headnote, the full text of the decision, and are linked to the Oxford Law Citator.
- Oxford Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law This link opens in a new windowCases, treaties, journal articles, and websites on international law including diplomatic law, criminal law, human rights, etc. concise but substantial information on: legal terms as used in international law, significant doctrines, prominent cases, decisions and arbitration, important incidents, judicial and literary figures, treaties and conventions, organizations and institutions, and acronyms.
Selected Introductory Materials
The Oxford Handbook of International Human Rights Law by
The Oxford Handbook of International Human Rights Law provides a comprehensive and original overview of one of the fundamental topics within international law. It contains substantial new essays by over forty leading experts in the field, giving students, scholars, and practitioners a completeoverview of the issues that inform research and a "map" of the debates that animate the field. Each chapter features critical and up-to-date analysis of the current state of debate and discussion, assessing recent work, and advancing the understanding of all aspects of this developing area ofinternational law.Addressing all aspects of international human rights law, the Handbook consists of over forty chapters, divided into seven parts. The first two sections explore the foundational theories and the historical antecedents of human rights law from a diverse set of disciplines, including thephilosophical, religious, biological, and psychological origins of moral development and altruism, and sociological findings about cooperation and conflict. They also trace the historical sources of human rights through comparative and international law by conducting a case study of the anti-slaverymovement. Section III focuses on the law-making process and certain categories of rights. Sections IV and V examine the normative and institutional evolution of human rights, and discuss its impact on various doctrines of general international law. The final two sections are more speculative,examining whether there is an advantage to considering major social problems from a human rights perspective and, if so, how that might be done. Section VI analyses several current problems that are being addressed by governments both domestically and through international organizations, and issuesthat have been placed on the human rights agenda of the United Nations, such as state responsibility for human rights violations and economic sanctions to enforce human rights. The final section then evaluates the impact of international human rights law over the past six decades from a variety ofperspectives. The Handbook will be an invaluable resource for scholars, students, and practitioners of international human rights law. It provides the reader with new perspectives on international human rights law that are both multidisciplinary and geographically and culturally diverse. It should become the newstandard reference work in this area.
Call Number: Available electronically or in print: K3240 .O96 2013ISBN: 0199640130Publication Date: 2013-12-17Human Rights: A Very Short Introduction by Looking at rights -- The historical development of international human rights -- Human rights foreign policy and the role of the United Nations -- The international crime of torture -- Legitimate restrictions on freedom -- Balancing rights: the issue of privacy -- Food, education, health, housing, and work -- Discrimination and equality -- The death penalty. Bibliography note: Includes bibliographical references (p. 164-181) and index.
Call Number: Available electronically or in print - Main Level - Study Aids REF K3240 .C58 2015ISBN: 0191548278Publication Date: 2015
The Law of International Human Rights Protection by Call Number: Upper Level K3240 .K35 2019ISBN: 9780198825685Publication Date: 2019-11-19
International Human Rights by
International Human Rights is the definitive work on the subject area providing its reader with a comprehensive analysis of this wide and diverse subject area.A successor to the widely acclaimed International Human Rights in Context, this book is written by Philip Alston and Ryan Goodman who are both world-leading human rights scholars. They have chosen a wide selection of materials from primary and secondary materials to demonstrate and illuminate keythemes and carefully guide the reader through each extract with thoughtful and lucid commentary.
Call Number: Upper Level K3240 .A4418 2013ISBN: 9780199578726
