Sources Used in Class
- Nashville in the 1890s byISBN: 0826511651Publication Date: 2009-06-15In the 1890s Nashville, Tennessee had already developed into a bustling center of trade and industry. NASHVILLE IN THE 1890s is a memento of that era. An outgrowth of the Vanderbilt Oral History project, established in 1950, this book tells the events large and small--the cataclysms and commonplaces--that distinguished life in the nineties. From mumblety-peg to the Centennial, from a "storebought" jacket to the Panic of 1893, from filling coal boxes to the Spanish-American War, this book recreates the aura of Nashville's elegant era.
- Nashville 1900-1910 byCall Number: F444 .N2 W26ISBN: 0826511651Publication Date: 1970-11-01History of Nashville, Tennessee 1900-1910 as related in written memoirs and oral history interviews with local residents.
History of Davidson County, Tennessee with Illustrations and Biographical Sketches of the Prominent Men and Women by Call Number: F443 .D2 C6 SCIVPublication Date: 1880
- Susie Daniel Kirtland Green CollectionMrs. Susie Daniel Kirtland Green (1887-1967), an associate of Margaret Sanger, operated the first birth control clinic in Tennessee at 2204 21st Avenue, South, Nashville, Tennessee, from 1932 to about 1941. In 1941 she began to sell Fem-A-Gyn contraceptive suppositories, which she developed from a recipe that Margaret Sanger included in her “Family Limitation” pamphlet. She and her daughter, Ruth H. Mocker continued a modestly successful mail order business until 1970.
The collection documents Green's professional life as a birth control advocate. - History of Undergraduate Desegregation at Vanderbilt CollectionThe material in this collection consists of oral history interviews conducted by students in History 295-01, The History of Undergraduate Desegregation at Vanderbilt, taught by Dr. Peter Felten Fall 2004. The collection includes digital audio files of the interviews, interview transcripts, a class syllabus, and annotated bibliographies of select resources assigned to students for research.
Interview questions focused on student experiences and perspectives on desegregation during the mid-1960s. Interview subjects were selected from a wide range of people who were on campus, including both students and administrators. Students used a variety of materials in Special Collections to prepare for the interviews, including the Chancellor’s Papers; files of the Human Relations Council; back issues of The Hustler; yearbooks; manuscript collections, including the Kelly Miller Smith Papers; and other relevant records. - James M. Lawson, Jr PapersThis collection contains the papers of renowned professor, activist, and Civil Rights movement organizer Rev. James Lawson, Jr.
Rev. Lawson's collection includes information on his education and activism, including the Memphis Sanitation Workers Strike and the Rev. Martin Luther King, Jr. Assassination. The collection is currently being processed and has a partial inventory. Requests to view the collection or acquire assistance should be directed to specialcollections@vanderbilt.edu. - Joe Thompson, Jr. PapersJoe Thompson, Jr. graduated from Vanderbilt in 1941 and then served in the U.S. Air Force as an aerial reconnaissance pilot. He flew over 90 missions, most of them behind German lines in a P-51 Mustang. Mr. Thompson, known as Tiger Joe, is also a gifted amateur photographer who took hundreds of pictures during his four years of military service.
- Waller Project CollectionScope and Content
A variety of resources collected and used by William Waller for his books on the history of Nashville. Includes essays of the history of Price's School for Girls.
Dates
1853 - 1954
Faculty Senate Minutes, 1875-1897
Record Group 505 Faculty Senate
Box F-0064 File 2
Vanderbilt University Archives
Edward D. Stone
Record Group 300 Chancellor's Office
Box 0226 Files 24-27
Vanderbilt University Archives
- Vanderbilt AustralCall Number: LH1.V25 V344Publication Date: 1879-03-01First newspaper published by student of Vanderbilt University. March-June, 1879.
