Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 1260W-05 - Introduction to Literature and Cultural Analysis: The Archive - Gutman: Home

Welcome to Special Collections

Welcome to Special Collections!

The Special Collections Library is home to the rare books, manuscripts, and university archives of Vanderbilt University.  You will find books and and manuscript collections on a variety of topics including Southern history and culture, performing arts, English and American literature, civil rights, and local history.  Our university archives contains institutional archives of Vanderbilt University, George Peabody College for Teachers, and the University of Nashville.

We are also home to the W.T. Bandy Center for Baudelaire Studies.  Founded in 1968 by the College of Arts and Sciences of Vanderbilt University as a joint project between the Department of French and Italian and the Jean and Alexander Heard Libraries, its core was the personal collection of the eminent Baudelaire scholar, William Thomas Bandy, who continued to work with the collection until his death in 1989. Claude Pichois, the distinguished French editor and biographer of Charles Baudelaire, served as director of the center from 1982 until his retirement in 1998. The W.T. Bandy Center's name was changed in 1998 to The W.T. Bandy Center for Baudelaire and Modern French Studies, reflecting the enhanced scope of the collections.

Curator of Special Collections

Profile Photo
Teresa Gray
Contact:
Special Collections & University Archives
615-343-2187
Website