Academic Life
|
Today, Vanderbilt undergraduates have a great deal of choice when defining their academic career. They can choose from over 40 majors and an even longer list of minors, or they can develop their own interdisciplinary program. The degree requirements for the Class of 1912 didn't leave them much room for choice. Of the 64 hours of coursework required for a B.A., only 21 hours were devoted to elective classes selected by the students. Members of the Class of 1912 had a rigorous academic program. They worked hard, but they definitely had a sense of humor about academic life. Below you'll find examples of student drawn cartoons depicting their "idea" of college life at Vanderbilt. |
Resources
|
Vanderbilt University Advertistement, 1910 Courtesy of Vanderbilt University Special Collections & University Archives |
|
College Life Cartoon, 1911. Image Courtesy of Vanderbilt University Special Collections & University Archives |
|
Chemistry Trip: Dr. Dudley Introduces the Practical Side to Students. The Hustler, October 22, 1908 |
|
The Vanderbilt "Classics", 1910. Image Courtesy of Vanderbilt University Special Collections & University Archives |
Resources
|
Requirements for Degrees as Recorded in the 1908-1909 Vanderbilt University Catalog. Courtesy of Vanderbilt University Special Collections & University Archives |
|
The Night Before Exams, 1911. Image Courtesy of Vanderbilt University Special Collections & University Archives |
|
Winners of the Entrance Prizes. Each year, the entering freshman with the highest marks on the entrance exams in English and Mathematics and Latin and Greek would receive a prize. The Hustler, October 8, 1908 |
Academic Calendar Cartoon, 1911. Image Courtesy of Vanderbilt University Special Collections & University Archives |
|
The Department Faces Game, 1911. We pick your department for you by your face! Courtesy of Vanderbilt University Special Collections & University Archives |
Resources
|
Courses of Study at Vanderbilt University with Informative Student Annotations, 1910. Courtesy of Vanderbilt University Special Collections & University Archives |
|
What He Learned at College, 1911. Image Courtesy of Vanderbilt University Special Collections & University Archives |
|
Geological Excursion: Dr. Glenn Takes Class to Ridgetop. The Hustler, October 22, 1908 |
|
A Student's Progress through German I-IV, 1911. Image Courtesy of Vanderbilt University Special Collections & University Archives |
