Welcome
Welcome to the Special Collections Library!
Special Collections and University Archives is the main repository for rare books and manuscripts on the Vanderbilt University campus. We are also the home of the University Archives, the official repository for university records and artifacts, and the History of Medicine Library
There are three main divisions within the department:
Special Collections
The mission of Special Collections and University Archives is to preserve, store and provide access to Vanderbilt University's impressive collection of rare books, manuscripts, photographs, and memorabilia.
We are located at 1101 19th Avenue South, next to the Wesley Parking Garage.
Our mission is to deliver a legacy of cultural heritage by acquiring, preserving, and making perpetually accessible, paper-based, analog, and digital collections of rare books, manuscripts, photographs, artifacts, audio-visual, Vanderbilt institutional archives, and any other information resources or data sets we deem under the aegis of special collections.
History of Medicine Library
The History of Medicine Collection at EBL curates, preserves, and provides access to rare books, manuscripts, photographs, artifacts, and other materials covering the history of medicine since 1500. The collection’s strengths include the history of nutrition, surgery, anatomy, and pediatrics, as well as the history of Vanderbilt University Medical Center.. It is located on the third floor of the Eskind Biomedical Library, adjacent to Vanderbilt Hospital on the university campus.
University Archives
The University Archives preserves the historical memory of the university and makes this information available to the Vanderbilt community and the general public. It collects and preserves historical records and artifacts for Vanderbilt University and George Peabody College.
W.T. Bandy Center for Baudelaire and Modern French Studies
The W.T. Bandy Center for Baudelaire Studies was founded in 1968 by the College of Arts and Sciences of Vanderbilt University as a joint project between the Department of French and Italian and the Jean and Alexander Heard Libraries. Its core was the personal collection of the eminent Baudelaire scholar, William Thomas Bandy, who continued to work with the collection until his death in 1989.
Curator of Rare Books
