Robert H. West Demonology and Witchcraft Collection
Dr. Robert West taught at Vanderbilt University while earning his doctorate in English during the 1930s. He had a very strong interest in 17th-century witch trials in England and the United States and built a strong book collection on this topic. When West retired, he generously donated his rare books to the Vanderbilt University Libraries as a resource for scholars.
Finding Robert H. West Collection Titles
The Robert H. West Demonology and Witchcraft Collection can be found by searching the library catalog. Search for "witchcraft" or by the collection name, " Robert H. West Demonology and Witchcraft Collection."
Books on Witchcraft
-
De occulta philosophia. Three Books of Occult Philosophy byCall Number: BF1598.A3 O413 1651 SevierPublication Date: 1651First published in 1533, this work was a significant contribution to the Renaissance philosophical discussion of the powers of magic and its relationship to religion.
-
De la démonomanie des sorciers byCall Number: BF1602 .B63 1598 SevierPublication Date: 1598Reply to Johann Wiers's De lamiis which was originally published under title De praestigiis daemonum. Originally published: De la démonomanie des sorciers. Paris : I. Du Puys, 1580.
-
Gems from the Equinox
by
Call Number: BF1611 .C759 1988 ClulowISBN: 9781561840199Publication Date: 1988First issued in 1974; reprinted in 1988 with minor corrections. provides a synthesis of Aleister Crowley’s published books on the magical order he founded in 1909. Originally published in ten volumes, this single volume work includes material on Crowley’s magical order, rituals, incantations, and other topics. -
An advertisement to the jury-men of England touching witches : together with A Difference between an English and Hebrew witch byCall Number: KD7852 .W5 F54 1653 SevierPublication Date: 1653In reply to W. Perkins' "A discourse of the damned art of witchcraft" and M.A. Del Rio's "Disquisitionum magicarum libri sex."
-
The hierarchie of the blessed angells. Their names, orders and offices. The fall of Lucifer with his angells byCall Number: PR2574 .H6 1635 SevierPublication Date: 1635
-
Malleus Maleficarum byCall Number: BF1569 .A2 I5 SevierPublication Date: 1929Translated by Rev. Montague Summers. The Malleus Maleficarum is a manual designed to assist prosecutors to conduct witch trials. Written in 1487 by a German cleric, the Malleus heavily influenced the persecution of witches over the next two centuries.
-
Militia spiritualis, or, A treatise of angels : handling the nature, power, substance and existence of good [and] evill angels byCall Number: BT965 .L387 1652 SevierPublication Date: 1652Militia spiritualis, or, A treatise of angels : handling the nature, power, substance and existence of good [and] evill angels : wherein is likewise shewed vvhat incredible power, secret influences, wiles and wayes, methods and moods the good and bad angels doe daily exercise in the hearts of men though they little mind it : all tending to the saints inward peace and heart-communion with Jesus Christ.
-
A treatise of specters or, straunge sights, visions and apparitions appearing sensibly unto men byCall Number: BF1445 .L44 1605 SevierPublication Date: 1605A treatise of specters or, straunge sights, visions and apparitions apppearing sensibly unto men. Wherein is delivered, the nature of spirtes, angels, and divels: their power and properties: as also of witches, sorcerers, enchanters, and such like. With a table of the contents of the severall chapters annexed in the end of the booke. Newly done out of French into English.
-
The history of magick byCall Number: BF1589 .N3 SevierPublication Date: 1657The history of magick, by way of apology, for all the wise men who have unjustly been reputed magicians, from the creation, to the present age. Written in French by G. Naudæus ... Englished by J. Davies. ranslation of his Apologie pour tous les grands personnages.
-
Discourse of the damned art of witchcraft byCall Number: BS680 .W64 P47 1613 SevierPublication Date: 1613A discovrse of the damned art of witchcraft; so farre forth as it is reuealed in the Scriptures, and manifest by true experience. Framed and delivered by M. William Perkins, in his ordinarie covrse of preaching, and now published by Thomas Pickering batchelour of Diuinitie, and minister of Finchingfield in Essex.
-
A discourse concerning prodigies: wherein the vanity of presages by them is reprehended, and their true and proper ends asserted and vindicated byCall Number: BF1777 .S7 SevierPublication Date: 1665
