Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections Research Guide: Photograph Collections

This guide describes types of material available in Special Collections and provides tips for finding resources.

Manuscript Collections

For more information on photographs, please contact the

Vanderbilt Photographic Archives

Old MainThe Vanderbilt University Photographic Archive contains approximately 300,000 photographs relating to the history and development of the university since its founding in 1875. 

Some of the photographic topics in this collection include faculty and staff portraits, athletics, the Nashville community, World War I and II, alumni events, campus buildings and features, and student activities. 

Peabody College Photographic Archives

University of Nashville studentsThe George Peabody College Photograph Collection is also housed in the department.  This collection includes over 20,000 photographs from the schools pre-1850 early beginnings as the University of Nashville to the school’s merger with Vanderbilt University in 1979. 

Among the photographic topics addressed in this collection are graduations, athletics, portraits, university events, campus buildings and features, Demonstration School, and student activities.

Public Services Archivist

Teresa Gray's picture
Teresa Gray
Contact:
Special Collections & University Archives
615-343-2187
Website