It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Pharmacy and Pharmacology research guide! These resources, which require a login with your Vanderbilt University or Vanderbilt University Medical Center credentials, are available both on and off campus (with the exception of Lexicomp).
AccessMedicineThis link opens in a new windowMedical textbooks, videos and animations, Diagnosaurus differential diagnosis tool, practice guidelines, diagnostic tests, evidence-based outlines of conditions and disorders, self-assessment, patient education, integrated drug database, photos and illustrations, cases, and custom curriculum. Covers internal medicine, cardiology, genetics, pharmacy, diagnosis and management, basic sciences, patient care, etc. Continuously expanding, all databases in the repository contain the latest editions of selected medical titles.
AccessPharmacyThis link opens in a new windowTextbooks on pharmacy and clinical medicine, drug news, and learning opportunities. Content from FDA MedWatch; information on herbs and supplements; dosage calculators; drug monographs; patient handouts; videos, images, and pharmacology lectures; case studies; self-assessment tests (NAPLEX).
CINAHL UltimateThis link opens in a new windowCumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature: authoritative coverage of literature related to nursing and allied health professionals.
ClinicalKeyThis link opens in a new windowSelected medical texts, medical journals, clinical guidelines, drug information, multimedia resources and patient education materials, and CME materials; diagnoses, conditions, drugs, etc. Accessing the PDF or using personalized features requires registering for a free personal account.
ClinicalKey for NursingThis link opens in a new windowDrug information, patient education, professional journals, reference books, current news, clinical updates, evidence-based content, guidelines, images, and care planning tools. Accessing the PDF or using personalized features requires registering for a free personal account.
EmbaseThis link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts to international journal literature and conference abstracts covering biomedicine and worldwide drug literature focused on the pharmaceutical industry: effects, use, and administration of all current, potential and experimental drugs, side effects, manufacturers, and trade names of approved and prospective drugs. This database also includes journals not covered by MEDLINE.
PubMedThis link opens in a new windowInternational journals in medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the preclinical sciences. Information from allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.
ScienceDirectThis link opens in a new windowScientific, business, technical and medical journals and books, including pre-pub and open access content. The back file of the Business collection is an invaluable archival source for business research.
All current Vanderbilt University students, faculty, and staff have access, both on and off campus. You can set up your own personal profile which will enable you to save searches and create alerts for new issues.
SciFinder-nThis link opens in a new windowProvides integrated access to authoritative references, substances, and reactions in chemistry and related sciences. New Scifinder platform with PatentPak and MethodsNow.
Stahl OnlineThis link opens in a new windowEntire current portfolio of neuropsychopharmacology books by Dr. Stephen Stahl. Also includes access to illustrated guides, case studies, handbooks, and a psychopharmacology drug tool.
UpToDateThis link opens in a new windowClinical resource, mostly in internal medicine. E-textbooks; information on drugs/drug interactions; images and videos; medical calculators and decision tools, "practice changing" current information, and training resources. Searchable in Simplified Chinese, Traditional Chinese, English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Portuguese, and Spanish. Users must create a free personal account to access from off-campus .
Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowCitation database from journals and international conference proceedings. Cross-search of the Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS Previews, and the SciELO Citation Index (Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa).
All current Vanderbilt University students, faculty, and staff have access, both on and off campus.
VU Libraries ResearchGuides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. You may republish or adapt this guide for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. Our recommended credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Vanderbilt University Libraries (current as of .....). If you remix, transform, or build upon the material, you must distribute your contributions under the same license as the original.