Finding Journal Articles
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation database from journals and international conference proceedings. Cross-search of the Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS Previews, and the SciELO Citation Index (Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa).
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowProvides integrated access to authoritative references, substances, and reactions in chemistry and related sciences. New Scifinder platform with PatentPak and MethodsNow.
- Reaxys This link opens in a new window
Chemical reactions, chemical substances and measured substance property data from chemistry journals and organic chemistry patent publications. Synthesis planner and the ability to generate a structure query from a name. Reaxys Xcelerate Direct enables fast insights into the data as well as instantaneous synthesis planning.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowProvides abstract and citation information for peer-reviewed journals in the subject fields of life sciences, social sciences, physical sciences and health sciences.
- American Chemical Society Publications This link opens in a new windowAmerican Chemical Society's peer-reviewed research journals in chemical and related sciences.
- PubMedDatabase from the National Library of Medicine that contains international coverage of over 3,800 journals in the field of medicine.
Reference Sources
- PubChemPubChem is an open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). PubChem mostly contains small molecules, but also larger molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules. We collect information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others.
- Knovel (Online Interactive Science and Engineering Books and Databases) This link opens in a new windowReference books and databases from sci-tech publishers.**Off campus access to Knovel’s content requires you to register for Knovel temporarily. Use this link:
http://app.knovel.com/web/register.html?orgregkey=22cc49dd-0b5f-4acb-9dce-aa33a4219721 and complete a short registration form. Register with your Vanderbilt email address. Once you activate your account, you will have off-campus access to Knovel. - DrugBank This link opens in a new window
Bioinformatics and cheminformatics resource combines detailed drug (i.e. chemical, pharmacological and pharmaceutical) data with comprehensive drug target (i.e. sequence, structure, and pathway) information.
- Handbook of Chemistry and Physics (CRC) This link opens in a new windowThe authoritative reference on chemistry and physics.
- International Tables for Crystallography This link opens in a new windowArticles and tables of data relevant to crystallographic research. Includes physical and chemical properties of crystals as well as theory related to crystallography.
- AccessScience This link opens in a new windowOnline resource containing reference material covering all major scientific disciplines.
- Cold Spring Harbor ProtocolsCold Spring Harbor Protocols is an interdisciplinary journal providing a definitive source of research methods in cell, developmental and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, computational biology, immunology, neuroscience and imaging.
AI Tools
- SciteScite is a Smart Citation index. It uses machine learning to help students and scholars discover and understand research articles. Smart Citations contextualize articles in the wider scientific literature and indicate whether each article provides supporting or contrasting evidence.
