Management Library
Owen Graduate School of Management
401 21st. Avenue South
Nashville, TN 37203
Business Planning resources
- Gale Business: Entrepreneurship This link opens in a new window
Sample business plans, articles, overviews, directories, business topics and types, "how-to" documents.
- O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Instruction and reference materials on computer programming, technology, and business transformation. The platform includes books, videos, case studies, audio books, and structured learning paths. An O'Reilly user account will automatically be created for first time users. For details, please refer to the O'Reilly Privacy Policy.
Mobile app is available at https://www.oreilly.com/online-learning/apps.html.
Business Model Generation by Call Number: MNGT Stacks ; HD30.28 .O778Available as eBook and in print.
Testing Business Ideas by Call Number: MNGT Stacks ; HD30.28 .B5926 2020Available as eBook and in print.
Value Proposition Design by Available as an eBook.
- Strategyzer Business Model Canvas templateDownloadable template from the publisher of Business Model Generation
Industry Databases
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowLarge collection of industry reports; market size, competitors, drafting business plans, pitch books, benchmarking, forecasting, business valuations, litigation support, due diligence and more.
Contains global industry market research reports include insight on the business environment. Search by industry name, NAICS code or company name. Use for understanding market size, competitors, drafting business plans, pitch books, benchmarking, forecasting, business valuations, litigation support, due diligence and more. Search by industry name, industry code, or company name to access industry reports. Full report available in pdf format.
Industry reports include:
- Industry Performance
- Industry Outlook
- Industry Life Cycle
- Products & Markets
- Competitive Landscape
- Major Companies
- Operating Conditions
- Key Statistics
- Jargon & Glossary
- BCC Research This link opens in a new windowMarket research on major economic, scientific, and technological developments in industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology organizations. Industry analysis and market forecasts for advanced materials, high-tech systems and components, nanotechnology and novel processing methods.
- Forrester This link opens in a new window
Reports and analysis that focus on the business implications of technology change. Jupiter media research and analysis incorporated into Forrester. At the Forrester login screen, enter your Vanderbilt email address in the Business Email Address field without a password, then click the Log In button. You'll be prompted to enter your VU username and password. First time users will need to complete a brief registration form.
- Gartner This link opens in a new window
IT data and analysis: executive summaries, perspectives, research briefs, research notes, special reports on IT-related issues. Spotlights key technologies, products, trends, opportunities, vendors and products.
- MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new window
Quantitative and qualitative analysis of the market; primary research and expert analysis, including industry interviews, competitive analysis, market trends, product innovations, buyer behavior, market share, etc.
Competitor and Funding Research databases
To better understand a company, its performance in the market and the factors that affect it, you need to understand the whole picture of that universe. This includes :
- Company’s financials
- Products and services
- SWOT reports (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities and Threats)
- Industry pressures and challenges
- Competitors
- Analyst reports
While you should certainly look at the company’s website, note that will only help you gain insight into that company's opinion about itself. For other opinions about a company’s issues and performance, there are several types of library databases that will help. They are generally divided up by the type of information they contain.
Using the company stock symbol helps you find consistent company analysis from resource to resource by making sure you are comparing the same company, and not any subsidiaries.
- Hoovers This link opens in a new windowDetails on US and international companies, executives, market research reports, and trade publications. Includes financials, subsidiaries, and trade and business news.
- Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Company chronologies, company histories, journals, market research reports, market share reports, rankings, recent news, SWOT reports, videos, industry information. Comparison chart tool.
- PitchBook This link opens in a new window
Private equity and venture capital database with in-depth information and statistics on a wide range of companies including startups. Establish benchmarks, find real time data on deals, identify and analyze comparables, and search investor details. Users are limited to 10 downloads per day and 25 downloads per month. Licensed for academic & curricular uses only. All accounts are reset in May of each year to ensure compliance.
- PrivCo This link opens in a new window
Business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations: family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies. Company financials, M&A deals, valuations, venture capital funding, private equity deals, etc.
