Google Scholar
http://www.library.vanderbilt.edu/eres?id=83
Google Scholar is another tool you can use to search for scholarly literature online. Google Scholar provides access to "peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations."
Often Google Scholar has the full text of the articles when you are on the Vanderbilt network using the Findit@VU links. If you are off campus, the FindIt@VU links won't appear unless you use the Google Scholar link above.
Finding Scholarly Articles
The following databases will be of use for various topics related to your class:
- ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Search all ProQuest databases simultaneously. Includes arts, humanities, social sciences, news, and science and technology.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowLarge and important archive for academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals do not have current issues.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowSubject indexing of journals, books, proceedings, and dissertations in the areas of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, and the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new windowBibliographical index covering academic and popular film journals. Includes: "International Index to Film Periodicals," "Treasures from Film Archives," and "Documentation Collections."
- HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new windowPrincipal index to articles on Latin America and Hispanic Americans in the US; journals on Latin American and Caribbean themes in the social sciences and humanities published in the Western world. Book reviews also indexed.
- SciELO Scientific Electronic Library Online This link opens in a new windowJournals and books published in Brazil and other countries in Latin America on health care, sciences, social sciences, literature, and arts.
- Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowIndexing of music periodicals including international themes.
- Rock's Backpages This link opens in a new windowArchive of music journalism: articles, reviews, and interviews from mainstream music publications and zines. Audio interviews.
Film Cinema Novo
- Schiff, Frederick. Brazilian film and military censorship: Cinema Novo, 1964-1974. Historical Journal of Film, Radio and Television 13 n4 (1993): 469-494Describes the Brazilian film industry under Cinema Novo during the time of strict military censorship from 1964 to 1974.
