Dealing with Abbreviations
Journal names are often abbreviated in bibliographies, and deciphering them can be quite a chore.
Below is an online abbreviation lists from the American Journal of Archaeology as well as a more comprehensive print resource in our reference collection.
Dictionary of Bibliographic Abbreviations Found in the Scholarship of Classical Studies and Related DisciplinesCall Number: Central Reference 6th-flr Payne: PA99 .W44 2003ISBN: 0313321418
Books, Articles and More!
Vanderbilt University Library Catalog
Selecting the best search scope for your research needs:
Library Catalog vs. VU Collections vs. Articles
| Search Scope | What is included? | When should I use it? |
| Library Catalog |
|
|
| VU Collections |
|
|
| Articles |
|
|
For a more detailed explanation of your search scope options consult What am I searching?
Keyword vs. Subject Searching
|
Step 1: Start your search process by brainstorming a list of keywords that describe the main concepts of your topic or question. |
|
Step 2: Use these keywords for your initial searches. Step 3: Use the Subject Heading links in the details section of the catalog record to refine your search. |
A Selection of Useful Subject Headings
| Aphrodite (Greek deity) | Gods, Greek | |
| Medusa (Greek mythology) | Homeric hymns | |
| Herakles (Greek mythology) | Mythology, Greek | |
| Goddesses, Greek |
Mythology, Greek, in art |
|
| Apollo (greek deity) |
Mythology, Greek, in literature |
The following databases will help you find articles on your topic:
- Année Philologique This link opens in a new windowlndex for research in Classics. Entries cover articles, books, book reviews, Festschrifte, and other collections dealing with the ancient Greek and Roman world, from the second millennium BCE to approximately 800 CE.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowSearch all ProQuest databases simultaneously. Includes arts, humanities, social sciences, news, and science and technology.
- Dyabola This link opens in a new windowIndex of material on all areas of Mediterranean and and Near Eastern archaeology and philology from prehistory to the Byzantine era. Citations for books, book reviews, chapters, articles, and festschriften.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowLarge and important archive for academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals do not have current issues.
- TOCS-IN: Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists This link opens in a new windowTables of contents of classics, near eastern studies, and religion journals.
What is 
?
FindIt@VU provides direct links from a database citation to the fulltext of the article (if available) and other supporting resources.
An FAQ for FindIt@VU is also available.
Image Databases and Resources @ Vanderbilt
- Artstor This link opens in a new windowDigital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Collections from museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. Access Note: To download images or use other advanced features, individuals must register for an individual user account.
- Visual Resources Center at VanderbiltThe Vanderbilt University Visual Resources Center resides in the History of Art department and is your sources for finding and properly using high-quality images resources for your papers, presentations, and projects.
François Vase
Black-Figure Volute Krater, ca. mid 6th century B.C.E.
Signed by Kleitias (painter) and Ergotimos (potter)
Museo Archaeologico, Florence
