Librarian
800FN
Welcome to the World of Library Research!
The Library is here to connect you to online resources!
- Access databases, journals and e-books online using your VUnet ID & password
- Work directly with a librarian!
- Email Ramona with a question
- Schedule a virtual meeting with Ramona for in-depth research help
- Need a quick and dirty answer? Connect to us via chat from any library webpage!
Apollo and Daphne
Quick art historical commentary on Bernini's Apollo and Daphne (1622-25) in the Galleria Borghese by Dr. Beth Harris and Dr. Steven Zucker.
Knowing where to start isn't always easy, especially when you're dealing with an unfamiliar subject. Sometimes the best place to start is a subject specific dictionary or encyclopedia. Below is a list of print and online reference resources for Classical Mythology.
Available in Print
Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae (LIMC)Call Number: Central Library, Reference: NX650 .M9 L494ISBN: 3760887511
Available Online
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowLiterary guide to significant sources on a variety of subjects including Classics. See Mythology entry.
- Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new windowLong-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. Both foundational and cutting-edge topics are covered in order to develop, over time, an anchoring knowledge base for major areas of research.
Access to selected content only. Some articles may not be available. - New Pauly This link opens in a new window
Encyclopaedic coverage of the second millennium BCE to early medieval Europe; with special emphasis on the interaction between Greco-Roman culture and Semitic, Celtic, Germanic, and Slavonic culture, and ancient Judaism, Christianity, and Islam. Also includes the aftermath of antiquity and the process of continuous reinterpretation and revaluation of ancient heritage, and the history of classical scholarship.
- Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to over 220 titles covering literature, classics, philosophy, religion and cultural studies. Check out the Cambridge Companion to the Greek Mythology and the Cambridge Companion to Homer.
