Getting Fulltext - Free
What is 
?
FindIt@VU provides direct links from a database citation to the fulltext of the article (if available) and other supporting resources.
Dealing with Abbreviations
Journal names are often abbreviated in bibliographies, and deciphering them can be quite a chore.
Below is an online abbreviation lists from the American Journal of Archaeology as well as a more comprehensive print resource in our reference collection.
Dictionary of Bibliographic Abbreviations Found in the Scholarship of Classical Studies and Related DisciplinesCall Number: Central Reference 6th-flr Payne: PA99 .W44 2003ISBN: 0313321418
Finding Scholarly Articles
The following is a selection of databases available for Late Antiquity. Click on the More Database Options below for additional databases in Classical Studies, History and Religion.
- Année Philologique This link opens in a new window
lndex for research in Classics. Entries cover articles, books, book reviews, Festschrifte, and other collections dealing with the ancient Greek and Roman world, from the second millennium BCE to approximately 800 CE.
- Dyabola This link opens in a new windowIndex of material on all areas of Mediterranean and and Near Eastern archaeology and philology from prehistory to the Byzantine era. Citations for books, book reviews, chapters, articles, and festschriften.
- Gnomon Bibliographic DatabaseOnline supplement to Gnomon Bibliographische Datenbank: indexes books, book articles, and some journals, 1997 onwards.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index of academic historical journals on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, etc.
- International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary bibliography of the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa. Periodicals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften, and exhibition catalogues).
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowLarge and important archive for academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Many journals do not have current issues.
- TOCS-IN: Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists This link opens in a new windowTables of contents of classics, near eastern studies, and religion journals.
- Index Religiosus This link opens in a new windowIncludes "Revue d'histoire ecclésiastique" and "Brepolis Religion – Bibliographies and Encyclopaedias," Covers articles, books, and reviews that deal with different aspects of the Church’s history (institutions, orders, congregations, people, hagiography, etc.). Not limited to church history; also takes into account political history, social and economic history, archaeology, history of art, music, architecture, relations with Islam and Judaism, etc.
- ATLA (American Theological Library Association) Religion Database with ATLA Serials PLUS This link opens in a new windowIndex to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Some full text.
- Bibliographic Information Base in Patristics (BIBP) This link opens in a new windowIndex to journal literature on patristics. In French.
- New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of periodical articles, reviews of books and software, and summaries of books focused on the New Testament. Periodical abstracts cover publications in many languages.
- More Database OptionsFor additional database options visit the Databases A-Z page.
