Image Databases & Resources @ Vanderbilt
- Artstor This link opens in a new window
Digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Collections from museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. Access Note: To download images or use other advanced features, individuals must register for an individual user account.
- Index of Medieval Art This link opens in a new windowRecords works of art produced from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1550 (extended in the case of the Morgan and Princeton Library projects to include this manuscript holdings up to the middle of the sixteenth century). Particular emphasis and focus on art of the western world until recent years. Both text and images included when possible.
- Visual Resources Center at VanderbiltThe Vanderbilt University Visual Resources Center resides in the History of Art department and is your sources for finding and properly using high-quality images resources for your papers, presentations, and projects.
Images on the Web
- ArachneArachne is the central Object database of the German Archaeological Institute (DAI) and the Archaeological Institute of the University of Cologne. Arachne is intended to provide archaeologists and Classicists with a free internet research tool for quickly searching hundreds of thousands of records on objects and their attributes. This combines an ongoing process of digitizing traditional documentation (stored on media which are both threatened by decay and largely unexplored) with the production of new digital object and graphic data.
Create a free user account to access the database - Perseus Digital LibraryContains sources for the study of ancient Greece and Rome including primary and secondary texts, site plans, maps, and art and archaeology catalogs and images.
- The Composition of Byzantine Glass Mosaic TesseraeWelcome to the database of sites and sources of Byzantine mosaic glass tesserae. Follow the links on the left to enter one of three databases:
(1) 'Structures' records buildings (4C-15C) where we have archaeological evidence (finds) of glass wall mosaics.
(2) 'Texts' contains records of primary Byzantine sources which mention mosaics (in development).
(3) 'References' is a bibliographical database of modern scientific publications about glass mosaics.
The databases can be searched or browsed for information and the method should be straight forward. - Stanford Digital Forma Urbis Romae ProjectSite is dedicated to exploring the Forma Urbis Romae, or Severan Marble Plan of Rome.
- VROMA Image ArchiveThe images in the VRoma Archive are freely available for all non-commercial use on the web.
A Picture is Worth 1,000 Words
The Four Tetrarchs
Sculpture in porphyry
ca. 300 C.E.
Situated in the south-east corner of the south façade of St. Mark's in Venice
