Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BUSA 1100W: Fundamentals of Management: Business News

Business in the News

Finding current business news on Fortune 500 companies is straightforward using the following library databases and resources. Most databases have tools to help narrow your search to the criteria provided by your instructor. In each search, remember to limit your results by:

  • Date 
  • Type of research source (press release, national newspaper, national magazine, national news wire, national news broadcast.)

Business Source Complete: News Articles

In the database Business Source Complete, search for the name of the company then use the drop down menu to the right to select CO Company Entity.

  • Once you have your list of results, use the left hand menu options to narrow your date range to 2014-Present.
  • Also use those options to narrow by source type.

You can enter terms in the second search box to narrow your results to a particular news focus.

Hoover's: News Articles

In the database Hoover's :    

  • Enter the name of your company in the company search box and click on the looking glass.
  • On the results page, click on the link for the correct company.
  • Once in the company profile, use the link on the left hand menu to access "latest news."

In addition, Hoover's contains company profiles, analyst reports, SWOTs, and market research reports under the NAICS code link..

 

Business Insights: Essentials - News Articles

In the database Business Insights: Essentials

  • Enter your company name in the simple search box in the upper right of the page.
  • On the results page, click on the link for your company.
  • Once on the company results page, use the links in the tan boxes to the right to access recent news.

 

 

Factiva - News Articles

In the database Factiva

  • Adjust the default date in the drop down menu, as it defaults to "last 3 months."
  • Click on the blue arrow next to Company to open up that search box, then enter and click on your company name to add it to your search.
  • Use any other of the database options to limit your search results (language, industry, subject, region, etc.)
  • On the search result page, you can refine your search results by the left hand menu options.
  • If you want to change your search, use the MODIFY button at the top right of the page.

 

 

TV News Archives

  

Vanderbilt is home to the TV News Archives, the world's most extensive and complete archive of tv news, including tv news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968. It includes items from ABC, CBS, NBC, CNN and Fox News, as well as news content from specials.

You can search the TV News Archives via their website or Library CatalogThe footage for all networks can be viewed within the Central Library or at the TV News Archives office at 110 21st Ave. S., Suite 704. Footage for NBC and CNN is available by streaming at all campus locations.

 

TV News Archive Search Tips:

At the TV News Archive home page, click on "Advanced" Search (located directly below the search box). The computer searches in both the title and abstract. On the Advanced Search page, right under the search box, you will see three options, "Word search", "Phrase Search", and "Boolean". Use the "Word Search". You can limit your search to a specific date range.

Word Search:

The "Word Search" is the default advanced search and is usually the one you should use. In a word search, the computer matches only the items that have all the words in either the title or abstract, but the words do not have to be next to each other.

Walker Management Library

Profile Photo
Walker Management *Library
Contact:
Walker Management Library
Owen Graduate School of Management
401 21st. Avenue South
Nashville, TN 37203
Website