Get Fulltext - For Free
What is 
?
FindIt@VU provides direct links from a database citation to the fulltext of the article (if available) and other supporting resources.
A FAQ for FindIt@VU is also available.
Delving Deeper--Primary Sources
- Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture: The Oliveira Lima Library This link opens in a new windowPrimary sources about Brazil covering 1803-1930. (e.g., travelers' accounts recounting the Minas Conspiracy). Portuguese and English.
Film Cinema Novo
- Schiff, Frederick. Brazilian film and military censorship: Cinema Novo, 1964-1974. Historical Journal of Film, Radio and Television 13 n4 (1993): 469-494Describes the Brazilian film industry under Cinema Novo during the time of strict military censorship from 1964 to 1974. Background on Cinema Novo; Major international recognition of Cinema Novo film directors; Socio-economic context of Brazil's film industry; Ideology of the Brazilian military regime; Evolution of Cinema Novo directors; Three censorship periods.
Finding Scholarly Articles
The following databases will be of use for various topics related to your class:
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowProvides full text of articles in a wide range of magazines and scholarly journals as well as news publications. Can search all databases or choose one select by discipline or subject.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowCovers relevant journals in history, anthropology and Latin American studies. Full text but omits latest 3-5 years of the journals.
- PAIS International This link opens in a new window
Public Affairs Information Service: journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, etc. covering issues in the public debate.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (WPSA) This link opens in a new windowCitations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science international relations, law, and public administration / policy. Includes merged backfiles of Political Science Abstracts and ABC POL SCI.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowSubject indexing of journals, books, proceedings, and dissertations in the areas of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, and the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index of academic historical journals on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, etc.
- FIAF International Index to Film PeriodicalsFIAF Index to Film Periodicals is a bibliographical index offering in-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals from 1972 to the present day.
- Music Periodicals DatabaseIncludes international scholarly and popular articles about Brazilian music and culture.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation database from journals and international conference proceedings. Cross-search of the Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS Previews, and the SciELO Citation Index (Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa).
- Anthropology PlusAnthropology articles and reports.
- HAPI, Hispanic American Periodicals IndexArticles about or from Latin America.
- SciELOArticles from Brazil and other Latin American countries on sciences, social sciences and the humanities.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is another tool you can use to search for scholarly literature online. Google Scholar provides access to "peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations."
What Google Scholar does not contain, in most cases, is the fulltext of the articles -- but it does work with the library's Findit@VU service to help you get to the fulltext when available. If you are on campus, Findit@VU will automatically appear -- but if you are off campus it won't. Not clicking on Findit@VU may lead to you receiving a message indicating that you must purchase the article to view it.
Bookmark this link as your access point to Google Scholar to ensure that the Findit@VU links appears in your searches. Don't get caught paying for articles when you don't have to!
