Background Beginning Sources - HIST 8600 - Comparative Slavery - Landers

Getting Started

Encyclopedia of the Middle Passage
Overview articles on many topics relating to the Atlantic World slave trade, including its historiography, slave ships, licensing, handbooks for slave traders, etc.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Good beginning point to help refine your topic and to find basic recommended books and articles on your subject or individual.
World of a Slave: Encyclopedia of the Material Life of Slaves in the US
Articles and documents on slave-made objects, canoes, schools, linens, caricatures, dance, music, abolition imagery, etc.

ABC CLIO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Digital reference collection, including: Encyclopedia of Ellis Island, Encyclopedia of Modern Olympic Movement, Dictionary of Medical Biography, American Universities and Colleges, The American Slave narrative series, and Terrorism: a Documentary and Reference Guide.
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
The segments on Atlantic Studies and Latin American Studies are especially useful research guides for an overview of topics and suggested primary and secondary sources (e.g., Native American slavery, abolition, slavery and gender, Spanish Caribbean in the Colonial Period).
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Includes Oxford Handbook on World Slavery and others (overview articles and sources on topics such as Indian Slavery)..
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Oxford reference works on many topics such as law, philosophy, foreign language dictionaries. Includes timelines.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to almost 500 reference volumes, this is a good place to start for background information and suggested sources, both primary and secondary.
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
This database searches the text of sets like Eltis's Cambridge World History of Slavery and the Cambridge History of Latin America. Scholarly overview articles and excellent bibliographies.
Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Articles, page images, and abstracts, including biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, or obituaries.

HIST 8600 - Comparative Slavery - Landers: Background Beginning Sources

Getting Started