Getting Fulltext - Free
What is 
?
FindIt@VU provides direct links from a database citation to the fulltext of the article (if available) and other supporting resources.
You'll also see FindIt@VU buttons in Library Catalog.
An FAQ for FindIt@VU is also available.
Finding Scholarly Articles
The databases below contain articles and other resoruces relating to slavery in the US and Latin America.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowIndexes and links to scholarly articles in historical journals relating to the United States.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and links to the text of journal articles in history that relate to Spain, Africa, Latin America and the Caribbean.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides complete electronic backfiles of core journals in history and a variety of other subjects. Does not include the most recent 3-5 years. Truncation symbol: *
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing, abstracts and selected full text articles in a wide range of popular magazines and scholarly journals. Truncation symbol: *
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowIndexes books and articles and other resources in the fields of anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, etc.
- Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new windowIndexes books, essays and articles on Latin America and the Caribbean.
- HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new windowThe principal index of journals on and from Latin America and the Caribbean. Links to full text.
- PRISMA: Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanisticas This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals on and from Latin America.
- Bibliography of British and Irish History This link opens in a new windowIndexes books and articles including British materials on themes such as the slave trade and abolition.
- Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new windowArticle citations in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Covers 40 languages and dialects, including English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages. Includes bibliographic citations, but no abstracts.
- Bibliography of Slavery and World Slaving This link opens in a new windowReferences to scholarly works on worldwide slavery and slaving. All known print materials published since 1900 in scholarly formats, digital scholarly journals, recent unpublished presentations at academic conferences, professional historical sites, and major museum exhibitions and catalogs.
- DialnetIncludes over 9000 Hispanic journals, as well as theses, documents and books. Though emphasis is scientific, humanities and social science journals are well represented.
