Guide to Black Studies
Handbook of Black StudiesCall Number: CENTRAL E184.7 .H25 2006Location:REFERENCE ARMSTD-4FL
African Studies CompanionCall Number: CENTRAL DT 19.8 .Z45 2006 Location: STACKS
Finding More Articles
You could potentially find
information on the study of Africans, African-Americans, and people of African descent in almost any article database/search engine.
For example if you are interested in health issues in the African-American community you would want to use a health/medical database such as PubMed. If you were studying religion practices across African cultures you would probably want to search a religion database such as A.T.L.A.
Additional Databases for African-American & Diaspora Studies
Trying to determine which database is best for your area of AADS-related research can sometimes prove to be the most difficult part of the research process. Here is a selection of databases which have been found to have excellent interdisciplinary coverage of topics related to people of African descent.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides complete electronic backfiles of core journals in a variety of subjects. LIMIT by DISCIPLINE: African-American Studies OR African Studies
- Exploring Race in Society This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and essays that explore the complexities of race, ethnicity, diversity, and inclusivity, bringing new perspectives on the diverse experiences of racial groups throughout the world.
- Literature Online This link opens in a new window
Literary criticism, selected full-text works (poetry, poems, and drama), author pages, reviews, and reference sources including biographies, bibliographies, and encyclopedias.
- LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines, and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
- PAIS International This link opens in a new windowCovers current events, public policy issues, and the social sciences in general--including economic and social conditions, government and politics, and international relations. Indexes a broad range of materials--books, pamphlets, and publications of the U.S. government and of international organizations.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowProvides 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. LIMIT BY DISCIPLINE: African American & Diaspora Studies
- ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
International literature in the social sciences: politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts. Abstracts, indexing and full text of articles, books, chapters, dissertations, working papers.
• Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)
• Criminal Justice Database
• Education Database
• ERIC
• International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
• Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
• PAIS Index
• Political Science Database
• PTSDpubs
• Social Science Database
• Social Services Abstracts
• Sociological Abstracts
• Sociology Database
• Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowThis is the key database for Psychology. The content also may be of use to researchers in the areas of education, social science, medicine & social work.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Coverage from 1953-present.
- Slavery, Abolition & Social Justice This link opens in a new windowThis digital collection documents key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries. Topics covered include the African Coast, the Middle Passage, the varieties of slave experience, religion, revolts, abolition, and legislation. The collection also includes case studies from America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Cuba.
Help!
Feeling overwhelmed?
Not sure where to begin?
Schedule a reference consultation with me using the form below!
Getting Fulltext Online
What is 
?
FindIt@VU provides direct links from a database citation to the fulltext of the article (if available) and other supporting resources.
You'll also see FindIt@VU buttons in Library Catalog.
An FAQ for FindIt@VU is also available.
