Financial Markets and Investments: Investment-specific Resources

Created by JPMorgan, this site is a great source for accessing news, earnings estimates, quotes, technical charts, and institutional ownership on American Depositary Receipts (ADRs) and international equities.

Provides good background information on American Depository Receipts (ADR). You can view ADRs by industry, country, or region.

Using Thomson Reuters data, BigCharts provides current and historical quotes, key company data such as market capitalization and earnings per share as well as charting tools, portfolios, alerts and screeners.

Create a variety of daily and weekly charts for periods ranging from a few minutes to several years and in several styles and colors.

This web guide lists stock and commodity exchanges worldwide, including those dealing in futures, options, and derivatives, as well as sources for market and stock prices and reports.

Topics include: US corporate bonds, US Municipal bonds, US Treasury and Federal Agency securities, bond funds, convertible bonds. It also gives information about portfolio strategy, hedging, swap mechanics, and analytic software.

Provides daily interest rates for selected U.S. Treasury and private money market and capital market instruments. Is updated weekly and includes up to 30 years of historical data on selected items.

FINRA provides market data on a wide range of bonds. It includes general bond market information such as news, benchmark yields, bond market activity and performance, as well as transaction data, basic descriptions, and credit ratings on individual corporate, municipal, and U.S. Treasury bonds.

Provides access to historical and current data on issuance, rates, and average maturity for corporate and municipal bonds, and federally issued securities. Also, covers Moody’s Corporate Bond Yield Averages from 1996 to present.

A free site with news, quotes and charts for commodities futures and financial indicators.

The Web site has links to all domestic exchanges, market analysis, market surveillance, and market research.

NYMEX site provides current and historical market data on futures and options for contracts traded by Exchange including crude oil, gasoline, heating oil, natural gas, electricity, gold, silver, copper, aluminum, and platinum; futures contracts for coal, propane, and palladium; and options contracts on the price differentials between crude oil and gasoline, crude oil and heating oil, and various futures contract months (calendar spreads) for light, sweet crude; Brent crude oil; gasoline.

CME Group exchanges offer a wide range of global benchmark products across all major asset classes, including futures and options based on interest rates, equity indexes, foreign exchange, energy, agricultural commodities, metals, weather and real estate.

CBOE is the largest U.S. options exchange and creator of listed options. Offers equity, index and ETF options.

Annual review of trends and activity in the investment company industry. Published by ICI (Investment Company Institute.) Includes chapters and data on: worldwide open-end funds; U.S. registered investment companies; U.S. Mutual Funds; U.S. ETF's; U.S. Closed-End Funds; U.S. fund expenses and fees; Characteristics of U.S. mutual fund owners; and U.S. Retirement and education savings.

Click on Investor Education to access guides to understanding different types of funds.

Access information on a large collection of mutual fund companies, fund listings and exclusive planning, tracking and monitoring tools.

A good starting point for mutual fund research, with a glossary, a Mutual Funds 101 tutorial, a screener, mutual fund calculators, a company and fund index, mutual funds by family, and the latest mutual fund data, including top performers and historical fund data.