Photography-Books
The Focal Encyclopedia of Photography: Digital Imaging, Theory and Applications, History, and Science by Call Number: Central Library TR9 .F6 2007Also available Online
The Disciplinary Frame: Photographic Truths and the Capture of Meaning by Call Number: Cenral Library TR183 .T344 2009
A Philosophy of Computer Art by Call Number: Central Library Art N7433.8 .L66 2010
Online Resources
- The Focal Encyclopedia of Photography: Digital Imaging, Theory and Applications, History, and Science / Michael R. Peres, editor-in-chief.Includes the history and historical processes of photography, contemporary applications, and the new and evolving digital technologies.
- The Miracle of Analogy, or, The History of Photography, part AThe Miracle of Analogy is the first of a two-volume reconceptualization of photography. It argues that photography originates in what is seen, rather than in the human eye or the camera lens, and that it is the world's primary way of revealing itself to us. Neither an index, representation, nor copy, as conventional studies would have it, the photographic image is an analogy.
- Oxford Art OnlineMost extensive, authoritative and easily searchable online art resource available today. Contains images.
- The Oxford Companion to the Photograph / edited by Robin Lenman."Compiled by an international team of over 140 contributors, this is the first Oxford Companion to deal with the subject of photography. It appears at a watershed in the medium's history, as digital imaging increasingly dominates the global photography scene. Providing a wide range of technical information, the Companion also presents, in a concise and readily accessible form, the mass of recent scholarship on photography as a social and artistic practice.
- Photographers: A Sourcebook for Historical Research / edited by Peter E. PalmquistAn annotated international bibliography, and six new essays on photography research.
- Photography, History, Difference"Over the past decade, historical studies of photography have embraced a variety of cultural and disciplinary approaches to the medium, while shedding light on non-Western, vernacular, and “other” photographic practices outside the Euro-American canon. Photography, History, Difference brings together an international group of scholars to reflect on contemporary efforts to take a different approach to photography and its histories."
Print Resources
- American women photographers: a selected and annotated bibliography / Martha Kreisel.Central Library Z7134 .K74 1999
- Classic essays on photography/ Edited by Alan TrachtenbergCentral Library Art TR185 .C56
- Contemporary photographersCentral Library TR139 .C663 1995
- Digital Art / Christiane PaulCentral Library Art N72 .T4 P38 2008
- The disciplinary frame: photographic truths and the capture of meaning / John Tagg.Central Library TR183 .T344 2009
- Encyclopedia of twentieth-century photography / Lynne Warren, editor.Central Library TR642 .E5 2006 v.1, 2, 3
- An illustrated bio-bibliography of Black photographers, 1940-1988 / [Deborah Willis-Thomas].Cenral Library TR139 .W55 1989
- Looking at photographs: a guide to technical terms / Gordon Baldwin.CENTRAL LIBRARY ART TR9 .B35 1991
- Original sources: art and archives at the Center for Creative PhotographyCentral Library TR6 .U62 T839 2002
