Online Encyclopedias in Philosophy
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 0415073103Publication Date: 1998-05-26
Book Reviews Save Time!
Book reviews are a great way to stay on top of recent publications. Below is a link to online book reviews. You will also find book reviews in many journals such as Philosophy or The Philosophical Review.
Notre Dame Philosophical Reviews
- Devoted to publishing substantive, high-quality book reviews (normal length: 1500-2500 words)
- Reviews are commissioned and vetted by a distinguished national and international Editorial Board
- Free email subscription
- Subscribe here to receive book reviews via email
Online Resources
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowScroll down to the section labeled Philosophy and Political Thought to view available titles in Philosophy
- Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new windowCollection of Cambridge titles covering literature, classics, philosophy, religion and cultural studies.
- Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new windowArticles on African, Islamic, Jewish, Russian, Chinese, and Buddhist philosophies; bioethics and biomedical ethics; art and aesthetics; epistemology; metaphysics; peace and war; social and political philosophy; the Holocaust; feminist thought; etc. Includes biographies.
- Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles on individual philosophers and concepts, and survey articles on major philosophical themes. Includes non-Western traditions.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowJournals, books, reference works, laboratory protocols and databases covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Find philosophy content listed under Humanities.
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowLiterary guide to significant sources on a variety of subjects. Works as an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
- Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowArticles and books on Archaeology, Classical Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, History, Philosophy, Political Science, and Sociology. Some content in Business & Management, Economics & Finance, Literature, Psychology, and Religion.
- Past Masters This link opens in a new windowScholarly editions of major philosophers, from Aristotle to Santayana; and the collected letters of major English writers: Austen, Burney, Coleridge, Wordsworth, and selected Romantics. Also includes the Oxford Classical Dictionary and the Oxford Duden German Dictionary.
